Mint 4 enquiry - 'run as root'?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint 4 enquiry - 'run as root'?

Postby alun_sundry on Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:37 am

As explained elsewhere, though I have Mint 6 running fine on my laptop, I have Mint 4 on my desktop pc. I have two downloaded files meant to enable me to use my Vodafone mobile Broadband modem with the equivalent Ubuntu, one is a .deb file that wants some python files I haven't got, the other is a run file which seems to uncompress and then exclaims 'run as root!' and doesn't install. I did set up a root account, if that's what it's called, but I have no idea how to 'run as root'. Can someone explain. Best of all by using my specific example: say I have this Vodafone driver/application saved on my desktop. I imagine I have to type something in Terminal but that's as far as I understand.

Thanks.
alun_sundry
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:51 am
Location: Kent, England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint 4 enquiry - 'run as root'?

Postby Husse on Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:03 pm

wants some python files I haven't got

Well before you get them the rest is blocked
Run as root - ever heard of sudo?
sudo your_application (in a terminal of course and gksu for an application with a GUI)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests