Software manager-"the data used by mintinstall is corrupted"

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Software manager-"the data used by mintinstall is corrupted"

Postby killplaystation on Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:28 pm

I just installed mint6 felica x86.
When using the live CD all package mangers worked fine. including the add/remove "software manager".
But now that its installed, synaptic still works fine but when i run the "software manager" i get this error:
"The data used by mintInstall is corrupted or out of date. Click on refresh to fix the problem : no element found: line 1, column 0"

Hitting refresh does nothing except for make the little error window come back, no matter how long you wait.
So i tried using synaptic to completely remove "mintinstall" and its supporting packages, then reinstalled said packages. But no luck, same thing.

Doing a search only gave me results about translations.
I'm sure a reinstall of Mint6 would fix it, but i'd like to learn about this problem and how to fix it.
Danke
killplaystation
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:59 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Software manager-"the data used by mintinstall is corrupted"

Postby Husse on Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:21 pm

Hmm - I thought I had answered this.
This is an error in mintInstall and Clem needs to do some hands on to get it working again - it has to do with xml and there is a post about it somewhere in the forum if you are interested
I have alerted Clem
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Software manager-"the data used by mintinstall is corrupted"

Postby killplaystation on Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:41 pm

Husse wrote:Hmm - I thought I had answered this.
This is an error in mintInstall and Clem needs to do some hands on to get it working again - it has to do with xml and there is a post about it somewhere in the forum if you are interested
I have alerted Clem

yeah? well like i said, all my searches led to dialogue translations. Would be nice if anyone could help me out. but it's not pressing. Because in the meantime i have the software portal and synaptic. but software managers broken broken
killplaystation
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:59 am

Re: Software manager-"the data used by mintinstall is corrupted"

Postby Husse on Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:58 am

I had a similar problem
The solution may be to delete your /~/.linuxmint/mintInstall folder
mintInstall will work again but wiil (of course) need a complete refresh
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests