Starting without administrative privileges

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Starting without administrative privileges

Postby houndhen on Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:19 pm

Running Mint 5 KDE. Prefer Synaptic to Adept. Installed Synaptic and it didn't show up in the menu. Edited menu and added Synaptic after I found it at /usr/sbin. Saved menu. Click on Synaptic from the menu and get the "Starting without administrative privileges" messge. I then went to /usr/sbin with Krusader as root and edited privileges and changed group to users. I still get the "Starting without administrative privileges" message. Do I need to change the owner to myself instead of root?

This is a home computer and no one uses it but myself.

Thanks
Thanks,
Harold
houndhen
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:58 pm
Location: Alabama

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Starting without administrative privileges

Postby SiKing on Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:01 pm

To run something with admin privileges, you need to put sudo (Super User do ...) in front of the command if running from command line. If you want to do the same in a menu, you need to put gksu in front of the command.
SiKing
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:57 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Starting without administrative privileges

Postby houndhen on Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:46 pm

Thanks, I will try that. I googled gksu and after reading the definitions I don't know if I would have known how to use it like you stated.
Thanks,
Harold
houndhen
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:58 pm
Location: Alabama


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: xTcisloVe and 15 guests