Virtual Machine?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Virtual Machine?

Postby gansmoe on Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:54 pm

Is there any free programs I can use to create a virtual machine? Like VMWare..
I have tried InnoTek VirtualBox, but the HD in my virtual machine is saved as a file. I need a program which can use an existing partition on my HD,

Can anyone help me with this?

Still a newbie :p

-Thomas-
There is no spoon!
User avatar
gansmoe
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:51 pm
Location: Norway

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:56 pm

Check out Xen.
I haven't used it yet but it is part of fedora and now RHEL5.
:)
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby mbrown on Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:20 pm

Mind if I ask - what's wrong with VMware Server? It's free, remarkably easy to setup on Bianca, and works like a charm.
User avatar
mbrown
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:08 am
Location: Calgary AB

Postby 900i on Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:20 am

VirtualBox is the one to go for

http://www.virtualbox.org/
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby mbrown on Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:40 am

900i wrote:VirtualBox is the one to go for

http://www.virtualbox.org/

Wow, fantastic link - thanks. Had no idea that existed :)
I thought VMware was the only sort of thing.
User avatar
mbrown
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:08 am
Location: Calgary AB

Postby 900i on Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:51 am

If you want to use it I suggest you let Automatix2 install it as it has to setup user/group permissions, you might come unstuck if you try to do this yourself if you are a newb.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby mbrown on Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:52 am

Ahhh, I dunno about the other users' situations, but I wouldn't call myself a n00b. I'm just not down on a lot of server stuff. We have quite a few people in CLUG that are VMware freaks.
User avatar
mbrown
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:08 am
Location: Calgary AB

Postby 900i on Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:55 am

You wont have any problems then, good look. I have it installed at the moment on my laptop. Used to have it on my Desktop and ran XP and Mandrake no problem.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby mbrown on Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:57 am

Wow it seems to have way better performance then VMware right out of the box. Or maybe I'm crazy :)


I like it way better so far. Seems to have quite a plethora of features!
User avatar
mbrown
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:08 am
Location: Calgary AB

Postby 900i on Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:03 am

Most people who use it comment on the speed, I think it's the "weapon of choice" with most people on this forum.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby gansmoe on Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:49 am

Oh.. I did not know that VMware was free. Thanx.

Anyway. I have already Tried VirtualBox, but I could only use virtual harddrives. I want to use a real disk. This way it will be easier sharing files between systems. (not only virtual systems, but also other systems on my disk.)
Xen is also a good program, but here my problem is that I want to use Mint. And also, I'll have to format my disk to use this system.
There is no spoon!
User avatar
gansmoe
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:51 pm
Location: Norway

Postby 900i on Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:58 am

It's only VMWare Player and Server that are free.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby PapiSolo on Thu Apr 12, 2007 6:35 pm

gansmoe wrote:Oh.. I did not know that VMware was free. Thanx.

Anyway. I have already Tried VirtualBox, but I could only use virtual harddrives. I want to use a real disk. This way it will be easier sharing files between systems. (not only virtual systems, but also other systems on my disk.)
Xen is also a good program, but here my problem is that I want to use Mint. And also, I'll have to format my disk to use this system.


Have a look here:
http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/OpenVPN_on_VBox
User avatar
PapiSolo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:39 am

Postby PapiSolo on Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:13 am

@gansmoe:

Have a look at this thread.

You can have both your host and Virtual machine on the same subnet, then all you have to do is share a folder and you will have your problem solved.

I would advise you not to give up so quickly on virtualbox, since I have tried qemu, Vmware player and workstation and now virtualbox. All I can say is WOW. It's free and not supprisingly, works way better. I mean honestly, the speed is amazing!!!

give it another try gansmoe!!! ;)
User avatar
PapiSolo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:39 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: benchrest, Wfstanley and 30 guests