Firefox shortcut problem

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Firefox shortcut problem

Postby G. Traynor on Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:12 pm

I'm new to Linux Mint and just installed the latest version of Firefox 2.0.0.3 and my Alt-right arrow / Alt-left arrow shortcuts on my keyboard don't work. I really use it a lot in Firefox for Windows. At the moment, I have to use the main Right/Left arrows in the main toolbar up above.

Is there some way to re-enable these keyboard shortcuts?

Thanks...
G. Traynor
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Postby telic on Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:11 pm

Odd. Those keyboard shortcuts work okay for me with Firefox 2.0.0.3 and GNOME Bianca.

Does everything look kosher in your Bianca > Preferences > Keyboard setup?

All else failing, have you considered mouse gestures? I don't leave Home without them.

-------
telic
Level 3
Level 3

Postby G. Traynor on Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:36 pm

No, it's a laptop. I use keyboard shortcuts. No mouse.

Page-up, page-down, Home and End keys work fine. It's weird, so I'm not sure what's going on. :(

Touchpad works fine too, although it's a little jumpy and needs the sensitivity on it turned down. Pushing the mouse arrow across a webpage sometimes opens hyperlinks on the webpage, I don't want opened. But that will be another topic.

-
Last edited by G. Traynor on Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:59 am, edited 2 times in total.
G. Traynor
Level 1
Level 1

Postby will on Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:39 pm

I had a similar problem. For me it was because the right Alt key isn't recognized while the left one is. If I use the left Alt key with the arrow keys the short cuts work again. Check to see if this is the case for you.

-Will
will
Level 2
Level 2

Postby G. Traynor on Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:48 pm