Can't Make An Application Launcher...

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Can't Make An Application Launcher...

Postby Gunmetal_Ghoul on Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:17 pm

I installed Clam Antivirus and its graphical frontend, ClamTK. I went ahead to add a new launcher by the "edit menu". I found the icon, but I can't find the right executable file anywhere in my filesystem. I tried searching for it but I just get lost trying to find where the right command is at. Do I need to find the path or do I just type in a command to launch the application?
Life's too short to keep things in their "out-of-the-box" condition....
User avatar
Gunmetal_Ghoul
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:34 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can't Make An Application Launcher...

Postby garda on Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:42 pm

Execute either of these simple commands in the Terminal:
Code: Select all
whereis clam

Or
Code: Select all
whereis clamtk
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Can't Make An Application Launcher...

Postby Gunmetal_Ghoul on Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:57 pm

I found it under "clamav", but I still don't know how to find the executable file to launch it yet. Thanks for your help though!
Life's too short to keep things in their "out-of-the-box" condition....
User avatar
Gunmetal_Ghoul
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:34 pm

Re: Can't Make An Application Launcher...

Postby pluraldave on Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:27 am

I assume you're looking in the mintmenu? If so Clamtk should appear under "Administration" (or "System tools" if you have that category visible) by the name "Virus Scanner". Use the search box to see if it pops up. If it doesn' t pop up have you tried reloading the plugins for the menu? If none of that works and it really isn't in the menu then the Clam tk command is.... "clamtk" (the standard launcher uses "clamtk %F").
User avatar
pluraldave
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:05 am

Re: Can't Make An Application Launcher...

Postby Gunmetal_Ghoul on Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:50 pm

I think that I can live without a launcher and just run it in the terminal.
Life's too short to keep things in their "out-of-the-box" condition....
User avatar
Gunmetal_Ghoul
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:34 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BenTrabetere, Bing [Bot] and 25 guests