GIMP crash

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
JohnH
Level 4
Level 4

Re: GIMP crash

Post by JohnH »

Dudo,

GIMP does indeed work in other earlier versions of Mint.

One thing I have found is that for GIMP to install properly from removed is to uninstall it first before you install your new downloaded version. I frequently have had issues trying to install (GIMP) from removed until I worked out that I needed to uninstall my resident version first.

I'm not an expert, but it works for me.

Best of luck

John
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
If you get too big for your britches, you will be exposed in the end.
dlkreations

Post by dlkreations »

JohnH wrote:Dudo,

GIMP does indeed work in other earlier versions of Mint.

One thing I have found is that for GIMP to install properly from removed is to uninstall it first before you install your new downloaded version. I frequently have had issues trying to install (GIMP) from removed until I worked out that I needed to uninstall my resident version first.

I'm not an expert, but it works for me.

Best of luck

John
+1

This is actually very true. Go into Synaptec and uninstall the existing version of Gimp first. Then in order, install all the packages that are on the removed site:

1. libgimp2.0

2. gimp-data

3. gimp

All should install correctly, and will run.
JohnH
Level 4
Level 4

Post by JohnH »

Hi there dudo,

GIMP does indeed work in Mint 6 Felicia. I'm currently running Gimp 2.6.1 without problems. I don't have a sure fix for your problem. It could be graphics card related, a Compiz issue or a number of other things.