frontend to reconfigure xserver

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

frontend to reconfigure xserver

Postby hairy_Palms on Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:59 pm

ok, i might be late to the party on this but for the life of mee, after using debian + derivatives for about 5 years ive never realised this existed, right under my nose!

Code: Select all
gksudo "dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg --frontend=gnome"


its a gtk frontend to reconfigure the Xserver.
i just wondered if i was the only one who couldnt see the forest for trees...
much friendlier for newbs who didnt get widescreen OOTB than telling them to drop into init 3...
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Tue May 01, 2007 6:12 am

hey
I tried that and I did not notice anything particular happen
Just gave my password and things went back to normal immediately afterwards....?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby hairy_Palms on Tue May 01, 2007 6:56 am

hmm does it give any errors if running from the terminal, or are you running kde?
also the quotes are necessary or gksudo thinks the option is for it
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby Husse on Tue May 01, 2007 10:16 am

I'm running gnome and I don't get any errors
if running from the terminal

IF ? where else would I be running it?
Makes no difference if run from a starter (or whatever these shortcuts are called)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby rahim on Tue May 01, 2007 10:35 am

rahim
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 12:49 pm

Postby hairy_Palms on Tue May 01, 2007 11:19 am

I'm running gnome and I don't get any errors
if running from the terminal


IF ? where else would I be running it?


well i thought you might be running it from the alt+f2 run box,
hmm strange, maybe i have a package that its included in that i didnt realise

hmm im not sure why that is, as i said, i didnt even realise it existed till yesterday!

i saw a post in the gutsy idea forum
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... erver-xorg

@rahim yeah ive been watching displayconfig-gtk avidly, but its still very buggy, lots of bugs and failed detections, looks promising though.
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby Husse on Tue May 01, 2007 1:15 pm

alt+f2 run box

Forgot about that one :)

No difference

hairy_Palms What happens when you run the command?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby telic on Tue May 01, 2007 9:58 pm

Entering the command under Feisty, the first thing that comes up is this...

Image
Click thumbnail for larger image

Clicking the down-arrow opens a list of almost 3-dozen video drivers.

Using the Bianca LiveCD, the first question asked is "Attempt to autodetect video hardware?"

Each time you click Forward, you're asked another question (about the display, keyboard, or mouse) that corresponds to an option entry in the xorg.conf file. Hovering your mouse over the input box causes a help/hint dialog to open.

At the end, a backup of xorg.conf is made before the new data is written (I did not allow it to complete).

------
telic
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Postby hairy_Palms on Wed May 02, 2007 2:21 am

yea what telic said :)
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby Husse on Wed May 02, 2007 5:01 am

I'll have to check the live CD because on my installed Bianca nothing happens. This is a much needed solution if it works, tinkering with xorg.conf is no good.....
And nvidia settings are unreliable...
dont know about ATI's counterpart
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby NiksaVel on Wed May 02, 2007 6:30 am

If this actually works, we should consider including it in mintConfig for Cassandra...
Windows is extremely fast after a fresh install. If you want to make it stay that way: - don't use it.
-Clem
User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

Postby hairy_Palms on Wed May 02, 2007 10:47 am

im still laughing at the fact it was such a well kept secret tbh :)
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby telic on Wed May 02, 2007 1:28 pm

I favour xorg-edit, with its one multi-tab panel...

Image
Click thumbnail for larger image

The xorg-edit utility program is in the Feisty repository. It might also be in the Mint/Edgy software depot...
Code: Select all
sudo aptitude install xorg-edit

Then run it in Terminal, superuser mode...
Code: Select all
sudo xorg-edit


------
telic
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Postby hairy_Palms on Wed May 02, 2007 6:14 pm

the trouble with xorg-edit is it completely lacks autodetection of any sort, making it no more newb friendly than your average text editor.....
displayconfig-gtk is a better option has autodetection but its very buggy in its current state. of course this all may become pointless conjecture when xorg 7.3 is released. however nothings ever perfect so who nows.. :)
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby rahim on Wed May 02, 2007 11:12 pm

hairy_Palms wrote:of course this all may become pointless conjecture when xorg 7.3 is released. however nothings ever perfect so who nows.. :)


I highly doubt Xorg 7.3 will be the panacea that everyone makes it out to be. At any rate, there will always be those who want to set their Xres lower than the maximum value, and many of them sure won't liked editing text files to do it.
rahim
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 12:49 pm

Postby clem on Fri May 04, 2007 12:09 pm

xorg-edit was added to cassandra. I agree with the critics though.. don't use it if you don't know what you're doing. But the tool warns the user itself.. so I guess it's ok to have it in there. Thanks guys for the suggestion.

Clem
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Husse on Fri May 04, 2007 5:30 pm

We should try to find a good useful tool for this, that works for everyone
It's in my to remember list :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests