Virtualbox for Cassandra

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Virtualbox for Cassandra

Postby whare1 on Wed May 09, 2007 6:33 pm

Just wondering what download I would need from
http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads
So that I can get it to run on Cassandra?

Thanx

Will
I've Been
Minted

Running Mint 9 KDE
Running Mint 9 Gnome
User avatar
whare1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 6:29 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby scorp123 on Wed May 09, 2007 7:55 pm

The search function is your friend :wink:
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=4248&#4248

EDIT:

I have to apologize ... There is more to your question than meets the eye first. And I didn't at first see this part in your signature: "Running Mint 3.0" .... And there is one download for "Feisty 7.04" and one for "Edgy 6.10" ... Hmmm. I'd try the Feisty first. You can still more or less follow the instructions given on that other forum topic I gave you the link to. If you get any strange messages then try the 6.10 *.deb package. But please make sure you check the VirtualBox manuals (available as PDF); just in case VirtualBox might need some extra packages, you'd probably have to install those first via "apt-get" or "Synaptic".

Regards :wink:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby whare1 on Wed May 09, 2007 8:05 pm

Thanx for the reply scorp

I will give that one a try I just thought I would check first (Being a newbe and all)

Thanx
Will
User avatar
whare1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 6:29 am

Postby whare1 on Wed May 09, 2007 8:59 pm

Sorry for double post.

Right just tried to install Virtualbox downloaded the additional packages that it has requested within the manual

anyway put this in the Terminal
Code: Select all
will@will-desktop:~$ sudo dpkg -i Virtualbox_1.3.8_Ubuntu_feisty_1386.deb



and got this

Code: Select all

dpkg: error processing Virtualbox_1.3.8_Ubuntu_feisty_1386.deb (--install):
 cannot access archive: No such file or directory
Errors were encountered while processing:
 Virtualbox_1.3.8_Ubuntu_feisty_1386.deb




The file is downloaded to my desktop

What have I done wrong or is it mint having a fit at me?

Thanx

Will
User avatar
whare1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 6:29 am

Postby Boo on Thu May 10, 2007 12:37 am

sounds like a bad download. :(

was there a check sum for the deb on the site to check it downloaded OK?

you may have to download again. :(

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby whare1 on Thu May 10, 2007 4:03 am

No check sum on the site that I can see

I will try it again and let you no how I get on
I've Been
Minted

Running Mint 9 KDE
Running Mint 9 Gnome
User avatar
whare1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 6:29 am

Postby whare1 on Thu May 10, 2007 5:34 am

Still Having the same error on a fresh download :(
I've Been
Minted

Running Mint 9 KDE
Running Mint 9 Gnome
User avatar
whare1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 6:29 am

Postby scorp123 on Thu May 10, 2007 7:54 am

whare1 wrote:The file is downloaded to my desktop
Are you sure you are in the correct directory when you execute the command? :wink:

This command that you used ... :
Code: Select all
will@will-desktop:~$ sudo dpkg -i Virtualbox_1.3.8_Ubuntu_feisty_1386.deb
... indicates that this isn't so :wink:

This part: "will@will-desktop:~$" shows me that you are in your $HOME directory, e.g. /home/will ...

And this part: "sudo dpkg -i Virtualbox_1.3.8_Ubuntu_feisty_1386.deb" shows that you assume the package to be in /home/will too, as shown by your shell prompt " :~ "

But this part: "The file is downloaded to my desktop" contradicts all this. Each desktop environment usually has a dedicated folder for their desktops, e.g. ~/Desktop for KDE and ~/.gnome-desktop for GNOME (depending on your Linux distro and where and how you installed KDE and GNOME from ...)

So I suggest you either correct your shell command or you move the archive file directly to your home folder where it is easier to find :wink:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby whare1 on Thu May 10, 2007 7:19 pm

Thanx for that scorp thats better

anyway loaded it up and got this

Code: Select all

VirtualBox kernel driver not installed.
At '/home/vbox/vbox/src/VBox/VMM/VM.cpp' (303) in int VMR3Create(void (*)(VM*, void*, int, const char*, unsigned int, const char*, const char*, char*), void*, int (*)(VM*, void*), void*, VM**).
VBox status code: -1908 VERR_VM_DRIVER_NOT_INSTALLED
.


Result Code:
0x80004005
Component:
Console
Interface:
IConsole {1dea5c4b-0753-4193-b909-22330f64ec45}



Ideas on what I have messed up this time :(
I've Been
Minted

Running Mint 9 KDE
Running Mint 9 Gnome
User avatar
whare1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 6:29 am

Postby angel naygel on Fri May 11, 2007 3:11 am

VirtualBox Kernel module seems being missed (not installed)
-Shutdown Virtualbox
-Launch this command in a terminal
Code: Select all
sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

to build a kernel module.

-Then add yourself (username) in Vboxusers group
(i supposed that will = your user name)

Code: Select all
sudo adduser will vboxusers

and
Code: Select all
sudo usermod -G vboxusers -a will

to give Vbox access to you.

-Restart X 'ctrl+Alt+Backspace' or your system 'sudo reboot' and launch Virtualbox again...
Wind blow us there and we're going forever to our Minty-land, our Minty-land, our Minty-land.
User avatar
angel naygel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 11:04 am
Location: France

Postby scorp123 on Fri May 11, 2007 4:07 am

Nice :wink: ... Thanks for putting those instructions here! 8)
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby whare1 on Fri May 11, 2007 12:09 pm

Thanx for the info Angel

But............................(Yes theres always a but)
I do this

Code: Select all
sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup


And get this

Code: Select all
sudo: /etc/init.d/vboxdrv: command not found


I am using the version that scorp posted here http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... 4248&#4248 running it under mint 3.0 Cassandra

Hope that info helps alittle more :)
I've Been
Minted

Running Mint 9 KDE
Running Mint 9 Gnome
User avatar
whare1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 6:29 am

Postby angel naygel on Fri May 11, 2007 2:22 pm

whare1 wrote:I am using the version that scorp posted here http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... 4248&#4248 running it under mint 3.0 Cassandra

This package?
http://www.virtualbox.org/download/1.3. ... gy_x86.deb
For sure, there is no /etc/init.d/vboxdrv (only appears on version >= 1.3.6)

It seems to be outdated , why not continue with 1.3.8 ?
User avatar
angel naygel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 11:04 am
Location: France

Postby whare1 on Fri May 11, 2007 2:30 pm

I think I will do I was trying with the newer ones but as noted in earlyer post anyway downloaded that one and it installed anyway I will get it upgraded and try again


Thanx
Will

EDIT


That works much better

thanx Angel I can finaly get something done on this now ;)
I've Been
Minted

Running Mint 9 KDE
Running Mint 9 Gnome
User avatar
whare1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 6:29 am

Postby NiksaVel on Sat May 12, 2007 4:48 am

helllooooouuu people?? Virtualbox is in automatix... nice and easy installation, under 1 minute... :D
Windows is extremely fast after a fresh install. If you want to make it stay that way: - don't use it.
-Clem
User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

Postby scorp123 on Sat May 12, 2007 3:57 pm

NiksaVel wrote: Virtualbox is in automatix...
Oh, that must be new then? Last time I used automatix it wasn't there yet :D
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby NiksaVel on Sat May 12, 2007 5:14 pm

it's there :) not sure for feisty... but I assume it is there too...
Windows is extremely fast after a fresh install. If you want to make it stay that way: - don't use it.
-Clem
User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

Postby bef on Sat May 12, 2007 9:46 pm

Don't under any circumstances use Automatix to install Virtualbox, or any other program which has such an easy installation. Automatix attempts to simulate the users installation and is likely to corrupt files and cause a bunch of problems.

Don't be lazy...
Image
member 675
User avatar
bef
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:01 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Postby NiksaVel on Sun May 13, 2007 2:15 am

this is the first news I hear that automatix breaks anything... I've used it successfully ever since I started using linux and I consider it one of the greatest assets linux has over windows... and one of the greatest assets ubuntus have over other distros... so if you have any other experience please do share...
Windows is extremely fast after a fresh install. If you want to make it stay that way: - don't use it.
-Clem
User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

Postby bef on Sun May 13, 2007 2:49 am

Niksa, why do you think that Ubuntu does not support it? ;)
Image
member 675
User avatar
bef
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:01 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], colyn and 25 guests