firefox starts in offline mode solved

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

firefox starts in offline mode solved

Postby icewolf on Sat May 30, 2009 6:56 am

i have linux mint 7 my fire fox always starts in offline mode

is there any thing i can change in the options to make it starts in online mode

thanks
Last edited by icewolf on Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
icewolf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:13 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: firefox starts in offline mode

Postby fwc on Sat May 30, 2009 10:17 am

Try this:

Please open Firefox and type into address bar about:config
if is the first time you are unsing about:config on firefox, a warning windows come in front of you please confirm the "promise".

Then search ( type the name into the "filter row" field ) for the firefox config param named network.online

double click on the filtered row and set it to true

quit and restart firefox

Hope this helps
User avatar
fwc
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:23 am

Re: firefox starts in offline mode

Postby icewolf on Sat May 30, 2009 4:36 pm

i tried what u said but it didnt work i think it doesnt read that i am online
u see i have a speed touch 330 router
and i followed the steps in this page http://www.linux-usb.org/SpeedTouch/ubuntu/index.html to config it
i think firefox doesnt know that i am online yet

still waiting for help

thanks
icewolf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:13 am

Re: firefox starts in offline mode

Postby fwc on Sun May 31, 2009 12:38 am

1.This should work but there is one more solution below:

Disable and stop Network Manager from services(System->Administration->Services, in Services configuration page stop and disable Network Manager).


If you can't find that setting in the menu:
toolkit.networkmanager.disable
to true in about:config


2.And last if all else fails (revert the file if it doesn't work):

open /etc/network/interfaces and make look like this:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
address 127.0.0.1
netmask 255.0.0.0
User avatar
fwc
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:23 am

Re: firefox starts in offline mode

Postby icewolf on Sun May 31, 2009 6:55 am

thanks very much it worked
icewolf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:13 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests