Too much memory usage

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Too much memory usage

Postby Mike65 on Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:32 am

Hy!

I have 1gb ram, and if i run my machine for hours it's start eating up my memory. When i turn on it's uses about 300-350mb but in time it's raising up to 700-750mb. i don't know why, in other distros i never gone above 500mb. Im usually running opera and ktorrent sometimes krusader and amsn and i have compiz running. (like any other distros). i realized that opera can use 80-110mb of memory, ktorrent and amsn about 20-30mb. Htop shows that the X uses 17% of the memory. What can cause this kind of memory usage, and how can i solve it?
I have ati grapics card ant using ati propriertary driver.
User avatar
Mike65
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Too much memory usage

Postby Zwopper on Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:22 am

Windows wrote:Unused memory makes it appear that the OS is not resource hungry!

Linux wrote:Unused memory is wasted memory!

You do the math! ;)

Seriously though, I don't see the problem!
Why don't you want your memory to be filled up?
This way your apps will load faster and the system will feel snappier.
If you come from windows I understand your thoughts though,
since windows constantly writes to swap for no reason what so ever!
Other then the fact tha windows prioritize the drawing of the desktop,
which ONLY will be swapped if any application wants to use actual physical memory REALLY BADLY! :D

Linux writes as much as possible to physical memory until it's full, then starts swapping, a MUCH better idea!
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Too much memory usage

Postby Mike65 on Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:52 am

No, i dont came from windows, this is not my first linux distro, and with other distributions as i wrote i dont met with that kind of memory usage.

"Linux writes as much as possible to physical memory until it's full, then starts swapping"
And that's not true at all, (at least for me) because there is some swap activity with only 70% of my ram loaded.
User avatar
Mike65
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:34 am

Re: Too much memory usage

Postby Zwopper on Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:54 am

Mike65 wrote:No, i dont came from windows, this is not my first linux distro, and with other distributions as i wrote i dont met with that kind of memory usage.

"Linux writes as much as possible to physical memory until it's full, then starts swapping"
And that's not true at all, (at least for me) because there is some swap activity with only 70% of my ram loaded.

This is probably due to your "swappines" setting, change it and see what happens!
And I still don't see you main reason for this, are you afraid that your RAM capsules will wear out!? :wink: :D :mrgreen: :roll:
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Too much memory usage

Postby Mike65 on Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:32 pm

But i dont think thats normal a simple opera uses more than 100mb, and amarok uses 80mb of memory. i dont afraid nothing, just know that i never see this on any other distro.
User avatar
Mike65
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:34 am

Re: Too much memory usage

Postby Zwopper on Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:06 pm

Mike65 wrote:But i dont think thats normal a simple opera uses more than 100mb, and amarok uses 80mb of memory. i dont afraid nothing, just know that i never see this on any other distro.

Well if you're running the Gnome version, starting Amarok means that you have to load(or at least call to) a lot of the QT-libs, which will need some extra RAM. 80MB ain't all that much, depending on your library size, remember that it runs a database as well.
This was the main reason why I switched to Exaile.

About Opera I'm not sure, I haven't used it for quite some time, I do know that Epiphany is lower on memory resources then Firefox, so I use that as an alternative browser, when I don't want to load my 40 or tabs that are open in FF at all times... :mrgreen:
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Too much memory usage

Postby Mike65 on Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:15 am

So here it is. i was left my computer run for 2 hours, only ktorrent was running, but there was no torrent in it. when i turn on my monitor it was 80% of my ram loaded. with no activity...
User avatar
Mike65
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:34 am

Re: Too much memory usage

Postby Zwopper on Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:41 am

What Mint version are you using and what DE?
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Too much memory usage

Postby Mike65 on Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:46 am

MInt 7, Gnome.
Another hour and memory went back to 50%, i dont know, maybe its normal, but i dont saw yet any other distro to use that much memory. (settings and apps are the same)
User avatar
Mike65
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests