Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby lucho115 on Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:06 pm

For example rigth now iam using 1 gb of ram (gnome system monitor) but real use is 3gb (top) because 2gb used like cache, yes you read ok 2gb of cache!!!!!!!!!!!, i think that must to be wrong, why the cache is the double of the real ram used? anyway i may think that when i need more ram the cache will be handicapped but NOT, when i use more ram the system start to swaping, its a disaster, 4gb of ram (aka 3.25) and the system swaping, it must to be wrong, anybody can helpme?
My system:

CPU ATHLON X2 7850
MOTHER ECS GF8200A V1.0
RAM 4GB DDR2-800 OCZ GOLD
HD WD 250GB


sorry about my english.
thks, bye
lucho115
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:35 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby lucho115 on Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:08 pm

jeje, its very funny, gnome system monitor say that iam using :
448,6 mib (13,7%) of 3.2 gb (RAM)
and also :
87,2 mib of 5,7 gb (SWAP)


If i have (3.2gb - 448,6 mib) 2,7 gb of RAM FREE , why iam using swap??
kernel memory manager is a disaster, or the is an error on the configuration.
anybody can helpme?
thks
lucho115
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:35 am

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby Mike65 on Fri Jun 05, 2009 5:58 am

I have similar problem. the system is uses 50-80% of my ram (1gb) when only 1-2 apps is running, and beside this it is using some swap.
User avatar
Mike65
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:34 am

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby WildSioux on Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:06 am

I have noticed this odd behavior too. I didn't know if that is the way it is supposed to work, or if it is a bug???

My system has 1gb of ram. Right now after playing a game it shows:
- RAM: 223.2 MiB / 1,000.9 MiB (1GB).
- Swap: 182.0 MiB / 1.1 GiB

If I start up my computer and don't open up any apps, it normally show the RAM at about 30%, and the Swap at 0%. But after playing a game, using Firefox, and Gimp...the RAM usage drops while the Swap goes up. This doesn't make sense as the others have pointed out that ram should be used up first before swap.

Out of all the other distros I have tried, this Mint 7 is the first one to ACTUALLY use the swap. With the others, and yes including Mint 6...I was beginning to wonder if the swap even worked. But I believe that is the way it is supposed to work and also believe that there is a bug with what it is doing now. As noted...Mint 6 did not do this.

A response from the devs would be nice to see what they have to say since I know nothing about how this stuff works and just notice(d) what it is doing.
Image
WildSioux
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:21 pm

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby c1sc0m4n1971 on Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:59 am

Here's something that will truly test this...

Capture packets with Wireshark while playing your game, and have all computers on the network talking (sharing files, downloading, etc.). The goal is to build the biggest .cap/.pcap file that you can, I would say at least 750MB for a decent test. This may take all night. A good comparison is a customer of mine has a saturated (99% all day) T1 circuit, all traffic going through a proxy server, 3 satellite offices via s2s VPN tunnels, and it built a 16GB file (yes, GIGA!) in 24 hours. I broke it down to 500MB files, and that will address 1.1GB of RAM, and merging another file, it will use all of RAM and some of swap, then the screen goes grey, then CWAAASHHH!!! Reboots!lol

I will post back with the results of my own test, as I have not paid too much attention to swap during loading the file.

Tim
c1sc0m4n1971
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:22 pm

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby c1sc0m4n1971 on Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:05 am

The swap stayed at 130MB, and RAM went up until 1.4GB. Please see attached, if I can finger out how to attach a file...lol

Tim
Attachments
wireshark_6_5_09.png
Screenshot of a 540MB .pcap (Wireshark) file being loaded, and the graph of System Monitor as a result.
wireshark_6_5_09.png (206.8 KiB) Viewed 1208 times
c1sc0m4n1971
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:22 pm

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby lucho115 on Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:25 am

OK, i think that its a kernel problem (ubuntu kernel) i dont try ubuntu 9.04 but with ther kernel of 8.10 we dont have this memory problems, thats why with mint 6 the memory manager was ok. Anybody try ubuntu 9.04 to confirm the wrong memory management?
thaks
bye
lucho115
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:35 am

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby c1sc0m4n1971 on Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:55 am

I have Jaunty installed on my two sons' computer (they are 3 and 5...starting them early AND on the Right Stuff!!!), so I can when I get home this evening...

Tim
c1sc0m4n1971
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:22 pm

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby richyrich on Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:05 pm

Have you read up on "Swappiness" ??
This thread: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=10941&st=0&sk=t&sd=a , is quite a long read, but has some answers for swap size, and swappiness.

just a thought, regards, Richard
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4647
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby c1sc0m4n1971 on Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:21 pm

Please post the output of

Code: Select all
cat /proc/meminfo


and

Code: Select all
cat /proc/cpuinfo


Tim
c1sc0m4n1971
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:22 pm

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby lucho115 on Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:19 pm

c1sc0m4n1971 wrote:Please post the output of

Code: Select all
cat /proc/meminfo


and

Code: Select all
cat /proc/cpuinfo


Tim

ok but rigth now iam trying:

vm.swappiness=0
vm.vfs_cache_pressure=50

so if its not works i back to old values and post the meminfo, de cpuinfo:

viejos@viejos-desktop ~ $ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 2
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 7850 Dual-Core Processor
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.040
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc pni monitor cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs
bogomips : 5600.08
clflush size : 64
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate

processor : 1
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 2
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 7850 Dual-Core Processor
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.040
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc pni monitor cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs
bogomips : 5600.04
clflush size : 64
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate
lucho115
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:35 am

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby c1sc0m4n1971 on Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:17 am

I don't see cat /proc/meminfo...or more /proc/meminfo...

Tim
c1sc0m4n1971
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:22 pm

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby DrHu on Sat Jun 20, 2009 11:13 pm

You installed the 32bit version of Linux mint ?

With a dual core processor, I would expect a 64bit OS to be used
--AMD might have a memory bug, they do on their phenom 9600 chips
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/di ... html#sect0
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-711184.html

Check the bios settings
http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/athlonx2_7850/
http://www.virtual-hideout.net/reviews/ ... dex3.shtml
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6898
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Mint 7 + 4GB RAM and the system swaping, kernel problem?

Postby c1sc0m4n1971 on Mon Jun 22, 2009 11:12 am

The 64 bit version JUST came out, and you'll notice that this post was before that...

Tim
c1sc0m4n1971
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:22 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rosswmcgee and 26 guests