heat causing shutdown?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

heat causing shutdown?

Postby afraca on Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:14 pm

Greetings,

I'm quite new to the Linux Mint distro, but this is the best one out there I think, absolutely brilliant! I have installed the RC1 of Linux Mint x64. I'm running it in dual-boot with windows 7 RC (which is also quite good actually). At the moment I use Linux mostly for a Frets on Fire mod called FoFiX, and for some surfing. (I'm planning to use it more however, but it's a bit getting used to, going quite good now).

The problem is caused by playing FoFiX. When I'm in the middle of a song (it's a guitar hero pc clone) sometimes Mint shuts down. A soft shutdown, not a hard shutdown that is (but still a forced shutdown).

The reason I'm posting this here is because of 2 things. I'm quite unique with this problem. I had it also in Ubuntu ( 9.04 ) so it can't be a RC problem. The other reason is (and also explains the topic title) : I've had some heat related issues in windows 7 when using BOINC (using idle cpu for making a better world), making my computer shutting down because of reaching temperatures of 103 degrees Celcius. This is a notebook so it can have a bit more then a desktop pc, but still it was a bit too much......

So my final question is: can the problem with FoFiX be caused by heat problems instructing the OS to shut down for security reasons. Is there a way to monitor this and confirm this or exclude it from the list of possible problems?

Thanks in advance,
afraca

ps. Or could it be caused by some sort of keyboard shortcut (pressing "2" twenty times or something? ^^ )
afraca
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: heat causing shutdown?

Postby bharani on Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:27 pm

Use conky to monitor CPU temperature.
bharani
Level 2
Level 2

Postby hyperdrive on Mon Jun 15, 2009 1:20 pm

Hi afraca.