mintMenu behaviour

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

mintMenu behaviour

Postby Izecson on Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:39 am

hi, I'm new to Linux Mint and I just want to clear something up..

Whenever I click mintMenu, it stays open and not automatically close after I chose an application (it doesn't behave like Windows/Ubuntu start menu). Is this normal?

If so, can I make it behave like Windows/Ubuntu start menu?

Thanks
Izecson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 8:44 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:29 am

It is default behaviour - should perhaps be a long delay insted - not much is more irritating than a menu that closes before you make your choice
The solution is
right click menu--> preferences, un-tick pin menu
At least I hope so :)
Not quite sure if this works - tell us
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby kenetics on Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:54 am

The solution is
right click menu--> preferences, un-tick pin menu
At least I hope so
Not quite sure if this works - tell us


It worked for me with Cassandra.

Ken
User avatar
kenetics
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on a Florida beach

Postby Izecson on Mon Jun 04, 2007 12:04 pm

Husse wrote:The solution is
right click menu--> preferences, un-tick pin menu
At least I hope so :)
Not quite sure if this works - tell us


It didn't work for me. The mintmenu still behaves the same way as before.
Any other suggestion?
Izecson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 8:44 am

Postby Izecson on Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:42 pm

Scratch that..

I've just restarted my comp and Husse's suggestion does work..
thx Husse. :)
Izecson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 8:44 am

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 04, 2007 6:52 pm

restarted my comp
So that's it - it did not work for me, but I did not reboot. Probably enough to restart x (ctr+alt+backspace)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kydman and 27 guests