no bash prompt in terminal

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

no bash prompt in terminal

Postby fossfollow on Mon Jul 27, 2009 4:19 pm

When I open the terminal, i get no bash prompt, then bash takes up 50% of my cpu even if i exit the terminal, and i have to kill the process. I tried reinstalling the terminal from synaptic, but that did nothing. Any ideas?
fossfollow
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:27 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: no bash prompt in terminal

Postby lagagnon on Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:03 pm

Please tell us what you did to get that situation. Have you recently installed new pacakges, updates, made any system file changes, removed users, home directory folders, etc???

Try installing a different terminal program such as "urxvt", open it up and type "gnome-terminal" and show us any errors you get...
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: no bash prompt in terminal

Postby DrHu on Mon Jul 27, 2009 6:09 pm

Try this first..
  • ctrl alt F1
    --try the terminal in the full screen console
    ctrl alt F7
    --gets the graphic desktop reloaded..
  • If this works without hanging the system and does give you a prompt
  • sudo apt-get update
    --will refresh the system, the /etc/apt/sources.list file
  • sudo apt-get upgrade
    --clean up any older data
  • sudo apt-get clean
  • sudo apt-get autoclean
  • sudo apt-get autoremove
    --you will get a list of what the command is about to do..
  • env
    --shows the terminals, bash environment, which should have: as the last 4 lines..
    DISPLAY=:0.0
    XAUTHORITY=/home/mintuserID/.Xauthority
    COLORTERM=gnome-terminal
    =/usr/bin/env

Next try this..
In mint menu>control center>System>Users and Groups
--create a new user include in the admin group or match the settings you have for the first user as far as groups go..
Now see if that users' gnome-terminal has the correct bash prompt and does/does not cause any problems
If this works, the problem is something in your settings/customization for the initial user
--so some careful checking of the control panel settings is required..

Finally..last option...
Instead of reinstalling gnome-terminal, use remove and install

So, in synaptic (package manager) ..mint menu>system>Package Manager
    Search for gnome-terminal or terminal
  • Mark for complete removal
  • If you don't have bleachbit installed, install bleachbit and clean up your user files, by running bleachbit
    http://bleachbit-project.appspot.com/
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6694
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kryss, Raffaele and 29 guests