constant upgrade packages message

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

constant upgrade packages message

Postby Ledda on Sat Jun 16, 2007 10:54 am

hi

since i've changed my medibuntu sources i'll always get the icon that there are new packages to install.

these are the 6 packages.

amarok amarok-xine k3b kaffeine-xine libk3b2 libk3b2-mp3

the problem is, i cant install them, they all have the status upgradable but the "no changes" in the requested tab. when i do a request, the requested tab of amarok changes into "BREAK" and the amorak-xine into REMOVE...

can someone help me out?

running the bianca kde edition.

stefan.
User avatar
Ledda
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:35 am
Location: Gent, Belgium

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:54 am

Are they installed?
It seems like some config error in "the apt-get region"
So try the following
sudo dpkg --configure -a

If that doesn't help

sudo apt-get autoclean

sudo apt-get -f install

and if even that doesn't help
sudo apt-get moo :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Ledda on Sat Jun 16, 2007 12:44 pm

thx for the tips husse, but it didn't work... and yes, those packages are installed.
User avatar
Ledda
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:35 am
Location: Gent, Belgium

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 16, 2007 2:45 pm

Not even the moo one? :)
I forgot to ask you if you've updated
sudo apt-get update
This may do it if you haven't run it
Should have mentioned that first
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Ledda on Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:59 am

haha not even the moo one :D

ofcourse i've updated, thats always my first step...
User avatar
Ledda
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:35 am
Location: Gent, Belgium

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:55 am

I'm out of options for now. It is something that has gone wrong "in the apt-get region" (can't find a good expression for that)
Can you install from synaptics - adept - and/or apt-get?
If not we must find a solution rather soon...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Sanchopinky on Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:09 am

I have the same problem with clam av , I've tried all of them but nothing happened, although the moo one was pretty cool. :D
Sanchopinky
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 10:08 pm

Postby Ledda on Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:18 am

yes, i can install other software with no problems...
User avatar
Ledda
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:35 am
Location: Gent, Belgium

Postby Husse on Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:58 am

Try to uninstall completely and then reinstall....
I see that I've already mentioned the -f option
and note that there may be a large difference between -f and -F :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cosmo., johnthomson, karlchen, michaelredhill and 27 guests