Facebook - "Uploading photo" - forever

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
enigma

Facebook - "Uploading photo" - forever

Post by enigma »

Hello . . .

I'm new at this facebook stuff and I need help

My wife signed onto the website and she tried to upload a personal profile photo and failed. I tried on my computer and failed. I tried on my netbook and failed.

My wife is using Kubuntu 5.04 LTS. I am using MInt 5 LTS and our netbook is Ubuntu 9.04 netbook version.

We click on the chosen image and a message box appears and just continues for say "Uploading photo."

I have searched and located problems with java but we are up to date with Sun Java 6 and the plugin link. I tried to upload .jpg and .png but no success. My search found only problems with no java and a blank box wanting a plugin. This is not my problem.

Since it is all three computers on a home network, I assume that the fault is possibly network based but I uploaded an image to another site with problem. My firewall accepts uploads and downloads as all my speed testing of up and down speeds can attest.

Any suggestions?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
DrHu

Re: Facebook - "Uploading photo" - forever

Post by DrHu »

enigma wrote:Since it is all three computers on a home network, I assume that the fault is possibly network based but I uploaded an image to another site with problem.
You mean with no problem...
http://www.facebook.com/help/question.php?id=235785
http://www.facebook.com/help/question.php?id=233879

For web sites, you often need to have javascript ON, especially uploading or attaching files to an email
--in the case of facebook, perhaps they also want flash or some other plugin available..