Firefox Homepage

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Firefox Homepage

Postby thcreations on Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:14 am

Hi,

I have a new Linux Mint 7 KDE machine setup at my office, and on all my windows machines I have my firefox homepage set as "http://thserver". This is a customized local page that list my clients, calendar, etc.

Under linux, firefox automatically adds www and .com which doesn't display my local page. Can anybody tell me how to fix this?

Thanks
thcreations
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:06 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Firefox Homepage

Postby MaddogF16 on Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:57 am

Could you make it a boomark then choose the use bookmarks option.
MaddogF16
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:47 am

Re: Firefox Homepage

Postby thcreations on Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:34 pm

Thanks for the thought but it wont allow me to.

if i type in http://thserver and hit go, the browser automatically adds the www. and dot com.

it does the same in windows, but there is a system work around. That's what i need to figure out in linux.

thanks again.
thcreations
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:06 am

Re: Firefox Homepage

Postby DrHu on Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:39 pm

thcreations wrote:I have a new Linux Mint 7 KDE machine setup at my office, and on all my windows machines I have my firefox homepage set as "http://thserver". This is a customized local page that list my clients, calendar, etc.

More context is needed (probably} " Software, browser, client connection methods ?I don't know why windows clients would be different for a web site

And is your http://thserver a web server that those other computers connect to as clients ?
http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/How ... +home+page
http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Bro ... _home_page

http://sniptools.com/webtools/disable-a ... ddress-bar
Possibly firefox awesome bar or autocompleteion of url (web addresses)

Just tested Firefox 3.0.14
Code: Select all
Home was
scroogle.org/cgi-bin/scraper.htm

Firefox result is
http://scroogle.org/cgi-bin/scraper.htm

Home page was
scroogle.org

Firefox result is
http://scroogle.org/

Firefox doesn't seem to be adding anything, except to recognize a home page as an http connection, and I didn't set-up a web server to find out if a local web page would be different, but a regular web server on the Internet seems to indicate it wouldn't a problem, nothing being added
User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 27 guests