Wine and Office 2007 in Helena

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Wine and Office 2007 in Helena

Postby souljerzoflight on Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:47 am

Well Hello everyone,

I am definately a newbie here but have spent the last three days trying to get my office suit to work in mint helena. I have tried several different distros of wine and went through many tutorials for it as well. many of which were for ubuntu 9.10. I am needing ms office due to school work, we use it as a universal program there, well who doesnt i guess. any help would be great or even any leads to a tutorial that works.i am wanting to go full swing into mint but have to make sure that office works before i delete my win 7 partition.
souljerzoflight
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Wine and Office 2007 in Helena

Postby DrHu on Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:37 am

souljerzoflight wrote: ...I have tried several different distros of wine ....i am wanting to go full swing into mint but have to make sure that office works before i delete my win 7 partition.
Install win7 inside a VM (Sun virtualbox), and run your office there, it might even work better..

For Linux Mint 7(gloria) main edition..
In terminal, check
    apt search virtualbox
    p virtualbox-2.2 - Sun VirtualBox
--I don't know which version of Sun's virtualbox is available in helena (based from Ubuntu 9.01, Karmic Koala)
http://tolearnfree.blogspot.com/2009/11 ... 12-on.html

Wine method (1.1.32) and Office 2007..
http://www.wine-reviews.net/wine-review ... -1132.html
    Wine version tested: 1.1.32
    Windows version emulated: XP
    Office version: Microsoft Office 2007
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16

Postby hinto on Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:14 am

I've had problems getting my Kensington Bluetooth dongle recognized by VirtualBox.
I have a Nokia phone I'd like to synch with Outlook running in XP/VirtualBox.
Has anyone successfully done this?
Thanks for any info.
-H