WIndows on Virtual Box

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

WIndows on Virtual Box

Postby AngelAnt on Thu Dec 03, 2009 12:06 am

I'm currently dual booting Vista and Gloria on two separate HDs, but I would like to get rid of Vista so that I can experiment with other distros.

The problem is that I need Vista (a horrible concept, I know) for a few programs that I use.

Anyway, I want to set up Vista on Virtual Box, but I don't have a bootable CD of Vista. Is there anyway to set it up using the Vista I have installed on my other HD?

Thanks!

PS I'm still fairly new to all of this so if you need any info, please don't hesitate to ask.
AngelAnt
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:57 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: WIndows on Virtual Box

Postby mick55 on Thu Dec 03, 2009 3:14 am

The problem is that I need Vista

Are you sure?

A lot of Windows programs will run perfectly in Wine on a Linux OS.
http://www.winehq.org/
Check the Wine site for compatibility, or ask people here about
specific applications you need to run in Windows.
Is there anyway to set it up using the Vista I have installed on my other HD?

Theoretically you should be able to.See this guide for details.
http://www.howtoforge.com/vmware_converter_windows_linux
But, if you just need to run a few apps and games Wine is the way to go.

Hope this helps
mick
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)
User avatar
mick55
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am

Re: WIndows on Virtual Box

Postby DrHu on Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:13 am

AngelAnt wrote:Anyway, I want to set up Vista on Virtual Box, but I don't have a bootable CD of Vista. Is there anyway to set it up using the Vista I have installed on my other HD?

How was it that Vista is installed already on the hard drive?
http://neosmart.net/blog/2008/windows-v ... -download/

If Vista came oem-installed and had a recovery partition from a manufacturer, you can use that to create a boot set of disks..
http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/05/1 ... ded-files/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=154207
I am also thinking if you can see the windows partition from Linux, you might be able to rerun the windows OS setup program to install fresh into the virtual box VM file or partition
http://www.qc4blog.com/?p=483
http://blarts.wordpress.com/2007/12/06/ ... isty-fawn/

A VM, like Virtualbox is, I think, always the better choice than wine, since it provides a bootable windows OS, ready to run, and everything (in windows) is where you expect it to be.
User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7098
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Newbie_from_NJ, SKS and 30 guests