Wrong architecture Error (Mint 8 x86-64)

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Wrong architecture Error (Mint 8 x86-64)

Postby playnicekidz on Fri Dec 25, 2009 8:21 pm

I have downloaded a .deb package (it is a package of a forex trading platform from a respectful broker - i do trust them). on trying to install the package i got the following: "Error: Wrong architecture 'i386' ". I am running Mint 8 x86-64.
Is it impossible to install a 32bit app on 64bit Mint?
Or is there any other cause?

---
i know that app is written with QT. The download page says nothing about dependencies. i haven't tested the possibility to install it on any other linux system unfortunately.
playnicekidz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 6:24 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Wrong architecture Error (Mint 8 x86-64)

Postby MaddogF16 on Fri Dec 25, 2009 8:31 pm

Do they offer a 64 bit version?
MaddogF16
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:47 am

Re: Wrong architecture Error (Mint 8 x86-64)

Postby playnicekidz on Sat Dec 26, 2009 7:32 am

no, they don't.
playnicekidz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 6:24 pm

Re: Wrong architecture Error (Mint 8 x86-64)

Postby MaddogF16 on Sat Dec 26, 2009 11:15 am

My guess is they packaged it specifically for 32bit. My understanding is that 32bit packages can run on 64bit computers if packaged to do so, but I'm not a packager, I'll either use what's already packaged or compile it from source.
MaddogF16
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:47 am

Re: Wrong architecture Error (Mint 8 x86-64)

Postby gn2 on Sat Dec 26, 2009 2:21 pm

You could try this.
User avatar
gn2
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:54 am
Location: Bonnie Scotland

Re: Wrong architecture Error (Mint 8 x86-64)

Postby Locuust on Sun Dec 27, 2009 4:05 am

Note that getlibs is a useful tool if you need further 32bit libraries then what ia32lib provides. Worst case scenario you could always use a virtual machine to run a 32bit distro if you only use the app on occasion.
Locuust
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:54 pm

Re: Wrong architecture Error (Mint 8 x86-64)

Postby playnicekidz on Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:36 pm

gn2 wrote:You could try this.


i've installed the package according to that tutorial. the app doesn't work. it appeared in mint menu, but package managers can't find it. i cannot remove it from terminal either (it says ca'nt find package *****).

can anyone help with removing the package? at least from mint menu.
thanks.
playnicekidz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 6:24 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DataMan and 16 guests