Okay, upgraded Firefox, now "minimize" means disappear

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Okay, upgraded Firefox, now "minimize" means disappear

Postby titianmom on Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:08 am

Hi all,

Loaded updates for Firefox and other suggested pkgs day before yesterday and now whenever I hit the minimize button at the top right, the windows disappear altogether. Doesn't matter what the app is, I've tried it on terminal, openoffice, browser, etc.

Checked the processes (ps -aef|more) and the app is still running...somewhere out there in bit bucket limbo. FWIW, I put the apps on a separate workspack, and as far as the workspace is concerned, it shows that it's not running at all, even tho the process is still running.

...update...

I had another browser up in Hulu, paused a movie, hit minimize and it naturally disappears. A few minutes later I hear the movie playing but I don't have a browser/Hulu up anywhere that I can see, so I have to kill the browser process in order the get rid of the movie.

Am I doing something wrong? I don't think so.

------------------

Something else new: I sudo su to root in a terminal and it only asks for the password the first time I do it. After that, I kill off the terminal windows and open another one and it never asks for the password when I sudo. For all I know that's how it always has acted, but I don't care for this feature, myself. Again, if I've configured something dumb on this thing through the GUIs (I did nothing as root), please let me know.

Help...
Kim
titianmom
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:32 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Okay, upgraded Firefox, now "minimize" means disappear

Postby richyrich on Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:05 pm

Right-click an open area of your panel, choose Add to Panel, scroll down to Window List, Add to Panel . . done. :)
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4638
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Okay, upgraded Firefox, now "minimize" means disappear

Postby tinca on Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:09 pm

titianmom,

I am running a fully updated Helena, and everything looks to running just fine.

Sorry that it does not help you.

Best regards Keith
Case Corsair Graphite 600T White | Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK | CPU Core i7 4790K | PSU Corsair 1000w RM Fully Modular | Graphic Card Radeon R7 250 | Cooler Corsair H100i Extreme | Ram Corsair 2 x 8 gb Vengeance Pro |
tinca
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 am
Location: England U.K.

Re: Okay, upgraded Firefox, now "minimize" means disappear

Postby titianmom on Mon Jan 11, 2010 4:04 pm

I'll take a look at the panel later, but for my info, what's "window list"? I looked at the panel because I figured that was my problem, somehow; they should minimize to the panel, right? Or to the open workarea?

Kim
titianmom
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:32 am

Re: Okay, upgraded Firefox, now "minimize" means disappear

Postby titianmom on Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:08 pm

Well, the Windows List fixed the minimize problem. Thanks; have no idea how I messed that up. Glad it's nothing serious, tho.

Best regards,
Kim
titianmom
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:32 am

Re: Okay, upgraded Firefox, now "minimize" means disappear

Postby richyrich on Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:30 pm

but for my info, what's "window list"?


Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (17.69 KiB) Viewed 428 times
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4638
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Okay, upgraded Firefox, now "minimize" means disappear

Postby titianmom on Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:20 pm

THanks!
Kim :oops:
titianmom
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:32 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests