Beryl and Frostwire togethet???

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Beryl and Frostwire togethet???

Postby starkey on Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:41 pm

Hi, I installed Beryl, but when I tried to install frostwire, it doesn't work, it only shows a blank screen, I have to turn beryl off, to use frostwire; is there any way to use both in the same time????
User avatar
starkey
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:27 pm
Location: Mexico

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Beryl and Frostwire togethet???

Postby scorp123 on Sat Dec 23, 2006 5:28 pm

starkey wrote:Hi, I installed Beryl, but when I tried to install frostwire, it doesn't work, it only shows a blank screen, I have to turn beryl off, to use frostwire
Hmmmm ... same problem here (LinuxMint 2.0 "Barbara"). Looks like the Java libraries FrostWire was written with don't like Beryl ... Workaround: Don't use Beryl or use a different Gnutella-client (e.g. gtk-gnutella). I agree, this sort of sucks. Maybe there is a better solution?
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 on Sat Dec 23, 2006 6:12 pm

[ EDIT: previous posting deleted ... the solution presented there did not work reliably! ]

OK, here is the real solution:

Can you please check if this file exists: /usr/bin/frostwire ... ? For example you could open a terminal and type this command:
Code: Select all
ls -al /usr/bin/frostwire


If you get an output similar to this then it means the file exists:
Code: Select all
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 103 2006-12-23 23:03 /usr/bin/frostwire
If it does not exist: OK, no problem, we will create it!

This file is a very very ugly shell script that doesn't do certain things right. On my system the file looked like this inside:
Code: Select all
bash /usr/lib/frostwire/runFrostwire.sh
That's really bad shell scripting right there, sorry to say so!

So we need to correct this. Please become root and open an editor, e.g.
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit /usr/bin/frostwire
The GNOME editor should be open.
Now please delete the content there (yes, really!) and replace it with this:
Code: Select all
#! /bin/bash
export AWT_TOOLKIT=MToolkit
export HOSTNAME=localhost
/usr/lib/frostwire/runFrostwire.sh
Save and close this file.

Now when you call frostwire it should work as expected, regardless if you are in Beryl or not.

Regards,

Scorp123
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby starkey on Mon Dec 25, 2006 12:01 pm

That's is great. now frostwire works, thank you so much :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
User avatar
starkey
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:27 pm
Location: Mexico

Postby scorp123 on Mon Dec 25, 2006 7:55 pm

starkey wrote:That's is great. now frostwire works, thank you so much :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

You're welcome :D
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby hairy_Palms on Mon Dec 25, 2006 8:17 pm

i found that upgrading to java6 also fixed the problem with java apps and beryl :)
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby scorp123 on Mon Dec 25, 2006 8:23 pm

hairy_Palms wrote:i found that upgrading to java6 also fixed the problem with java apps and beryl :)
How did you upgrade? Via synaptic or the apt-get commands? Or did you manually download and install the package?
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby bourbonstreet on Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:56 pm

Thank you scorp123 i`ve been looking for a fix for this for a while. I even registered just to say thank you. :lol:
bourbonstreet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:42 pm

Postby scorp123 on Sat Dec 30, 2006 6:28 pm

bourbonstreet wrote:Thank you scorp123 i`ve been looking for a fix for this for a while. I even registered just to say thank you. :lol:

Hey wow, thank you :D
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby hairy_Palms on Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:44 am

i upgraded using the official installer in /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun it replaces the jre folder
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests