problem with Picasa, when switching users

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

problem with Picasa, when switching users

Postby gollum1971 on Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:16 pm

Hi all....

This is only my second problem with Mint so I very happy with it so far...

Problem No 2

I have installed Picasa on my fiance's laptop for our new camera, And it works great.
But when I log into my own account, Picasa wont even start.
I get a message saying -

/dev/nvidia0 or /dev/nvidiact1 are not accessable. Picasa will crash if these files are not accessable. to fix this, as root, please run:
chmod 666 /dev/nvidia0 /dev/nvidiact1

When I do that, I get a message saying that /dev/nvidiact1 : no such file or directory

Please help !

Thanks

Aiden
gollum1971
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: Ormskirk, England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:12 pm

It looks like you may not need both devices.

you could test this (or just provide more info) by listing them in both user accounts.
login as you and run:
ls -l /dev/nvidia*

login as your fiance and run:
ls -l /dev/nvidia*

there could be some other permission problem or config error for your account not to work but it just shows up with the one you listed.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby gollum1971 on Tue Jul 24, 2007 6:59 pm

Thanks for the reply Boo

I must admit I'm more than a little confused with it all. :D

Anyways, I did the test on my finance's account and here is the result

crw-rw---- 1 root video 195, 0 2007-07-24 17:48 /dev/nvidia0
crw-rw---- 1 root video 195, 255 2007-07-24 17:48 /dev/nvidiactl

Don't know if that makes any sense mind :roll:
I'll try my account in a min

And with my account

crw-rw---- 1 root video 195, 0 2007-07-24 17:48 /dev/nvidia0
crw-rw---- 1 root video 195, 255 2007-07-24 17:48 /dev/nvidiactl

Now with my powers of deduction I'm going to guess that both of the nvidia things are there and that I have a permission problem rather than a software/hardware one ?

Thanks again for the reply

Aiden
gollum1971
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: Ormskirk, England

Postby Boo on Wed Jul 25, 2007 2:35 am

yes it is permissons.
they are set to 660 for both devices.
and like the error suggested you have to set them to 666.

looks like you did not use a sudo on the chmod or if you look carefully the last letter of the second device is a "l" (lower case L)and not the number "1" (one), and since the device with a 1 at the end does not exist the command fails.
run:
sudo chmod 666 /dev/nvidia0
sudo chmod 666 /dev/nvidiactl


BTW i use f-spot as my photo/camera tool of choice.
:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mbnoimi and 22 guests