Problems with Gambas

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Problems with Gambas

Postby leo72 on Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:34 am

Hi everybody.
I've been a Suse user for several years.
But I've decided to change distro and I've started to look around searching a valid alternative to my Suse 10.2
I've found LinuxMint 3.0 Cassandra on a CD distribuited with a Linux magazine and I've tried it. I've been well impressed by this distro and I've decided to install it on my desktop PC.

Yesterday I've decided to compile and install the development environment that I use to create my little applications, Gambas. But I've had some problems... when I open the environment and try to compile any project of mine (developed with Qt) the environment seems to freeze. No message error is given... simply I get the window freezed...

This is strange because I've installed all the dependencies needed to compile and run Qt applications and because some weeks ago I've tried on the same PC Ubuntu 7.04 and I didn't get any kind of problems running and compiling my Gambas applications.
I know that LinuxMint is an Ubuntu-derived distro so I thinked that I couldn't have problems...

Someone can help me? :cry:
User avatar
leo72
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Italy

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby leo72 on Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:53 pm

Very very strange.... but I've solved the problem simply doing... nothing!
I've rebooted the system and when I opened again the Gambas development environment everythink worked fine!

It seems that there was a problem related to an upgrade that I made with Synaptic. I've noticed that when I install or reinstall applications a python sections starts in background consuming a looot of CPU and system resources! During this time, the MintMenu isn't working: maybe when I install any app a MintMenu updater (written in Python?) is called and it reanalyze all the entries to rebuild the menu???
This is the only explanation that I can give to this strange way of working of LinuxMint.
User avatar
leo72
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Italy

Postby leo72 on Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:13 am

Up.

Nobody knows why LinuxMint get this long time to update the MintMenu after installing an application, with the system that seems to be freezed?
Is it a bug or a problem of my system?
User avatar
leo72
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Italy

Postby Husse on Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:20 pm

Don't know :)
But there is a problem (in older versions only I think) with mintMenu using tons of memory under certain circumstances.
Else I can't make sense of it....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby leo72 on Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:28 am

Not only in older versions but also in the last one.
I'm using LinuxMint 3.0 Cassandra and when I install with Synaptic any application that has a menu entry, I've noticed that when the installation is finished the HD starts working for a lot of time (several minutes).
During this time, the system is unusuable (it responds with a gap of several seconds) and I cannot open the MintMenu.
I've launched the system monitor to look at the processes that consume a lot of resources and I've noticed that one of the heaviest apps is marked as Python. So I think that MintMenu is handled by a Python istance that makes the upgrades at the menu entries after the installation is terminated.

I'll make a bug submit.
User avatar
leo72
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Italy


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests