sabrent tv tuner card plz help

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

sabrent tv tuner card plz help

Postby jb14813 on Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:19 pm

i just bought a tv tuner card for my pc while i was still running windows and now that i have linux even with wine i cant run the software however there was one program i believe that recognized it but when i tried to use it couldnt get any thing any suggestions its a sabrent tv tuner/ video capture / fm radio pci card w/ remote
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:00 am

We need more precise information - which model is it and preferably chipset (use lspci to find it)
There may be large differences between models of the same brand
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby jb14813 on Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:26 am

model SBT-TVFM
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Postby Husse on Thu Aug 30, 2007 4:57 pm

As you can see from this page it has a Phillips chipset
http://www.sabrent.com/Drivers/SBT-TVFM.htm
This post in the Ubuntu forum claims that there is a support in the kernel for this chipset
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=474092
There's also a recommendation for the Tvtime application for testing and using the card.

PS Shrink your avatar as I asked you to do. One of your posts takes about 1/2 of my 17 inch monitor
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby jb14813 on Thu Aug 30, 2007 5:01 pm

can you help me install the tv time software
plz and i have tried to shrink it, its a work in progress if you can just hold on like a day or two
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Postby Husse on Fri Aug 31, 2007 6:34 am

TVtime is in synaptics (or apt-get if you prefer that)
Always do a search in synaptics if you want to find software
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby jb14813 on Fri Aug 31, 2007 7:36 am

i dont know how to use synamptic i was told it is not on the kde version which i am running
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Postby Husse on Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:13 pm

Sorry did not realize KDE - the counterpart there is Adept and apt-get always work
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install tvtime

If tvtime is not found you must add some repository - I've asked you to post your repositories.lst in one of the may posts from you
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests