Synaptic wants to delete itself!!

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Synaptic wants to delete itself!!

Postby gandalfito753 on Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:51 am

I saw in other topics that many people recomend using synaptic so I decided to install it.

My problem is, that after installing few packages, when I click on 'MARK UPDATES' (AKTUALISIERUNG VORMERKEN, I have it in German) in the section 'packets to delete' it sais me
- synaptic
- lib4-vte

And naturally, if I accept it I loose synaptic.
I will thank you very much for any sugestion on this case!
gandalfito753
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:43 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:12 am

Welcome to Mint gandalfito753
Install synaptic?????
You mean the touchpad?
In all other cases no need
Synaptics or in KDE adept is there by default - it's a part of Linux....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Synaptic wants to delete itself!!

Postby scorp123 on Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:57 pm

gandalfito753 wrote:I saw in other topics that many people recomend using synaptic so I decided to install it.
Why install it? It should already be there. What text messages do you get if you execute these commands in a shell?
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
<== now before answering "J" to any questions please *READ* what the installer says and what packages it wants to remove or upgrade. Copy & paste that here, OK?
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby Husse on Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:53 pm

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
Could mess things up real bad - remember those that dist-upgraded Bianca.
We have to be careful with this command
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5188
But as a problem solver...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Synaptic wants to delete itself!!

Postby gandalfito753 on Thu Sep 13, 2007 6:52 am

When I type in terminal the commands, I get the following error (for both of them)

Reading pakets list ... ERROR!
E: Dynamic MMap ran out of room
E. An error occured while working with pyhon-kinterbasdb
E: Problem with MergeList /var/lib/apt/list/ftp.de.debian.org_debian_dists_etch_main_binary-i386_Packages
E: The packetlist or the Data status could not be open
gandalfito753
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:43 am

Re: Synaptic wants to delete itself!!

Postby scorp123 on Thu Sep 13, 2007 5:08 pm

gandalfito753 wrote: /var/lib/apt/list/ftp.de.debian.org_debian_dists_etch_main_binary-i386_Packages
Debian Etch???? xxx. Can you please post your /etc/apt/sources.list here?
Last edited by Oscar799 on Wed May 12, 2010 10:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Inappropriate acronym deleted
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby gandalfito753 on Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:59 am

The sources.list is as follow...


## UBUNTU REPOSITORIES
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy main restricted universe multiverse

## UBUNTU PROPOSED UPDATES
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-proposed main restricted universe multiverse

## MAJOR BUG FIX UPDATES produced after the final release
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-updates main restricted universe multiverse

## UBUNTU SECURITY UPDATES
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-security main restricted universe multiverse

## BACKPORTS REPOSITORY (Unsupported. May contain illegal packages. Use at own risk.)
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-backports main restricted universe multiverse

## CANONICAL COMMERCIAL REPOSITORY (Hosted on Canonical servers, not Ubuntu
## servers. RealPlayer10, Opera, DesktopSecure and more to come.)
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ edgy-commercial main

## AMAROK 1.4.5
deb http://kubuntu.org/packages/amarok-145/ edgy main

## KOFFICE 1.6.2
deb http://kubuntu.org/packages/koffice-162/ edgy main

## KDE 3.5.6
# deb http://ftp.heanet.ie/pub/kde/stable/3.5.6/kubuntu/ edgy main

## MEDIBUNTU
deb http://medibuntu.sos-sts.com/repo/ edgy free non-free

## LINUX MINT
deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository/ bianca/

## ROMEO (Linux Mint Unstable)
## deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository romeo/


deb http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ etch main
gandalfito753
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:43 am

Postby linuxviolin on Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:56 am

What comes to make Debian Etch here? :roll: I guess that you should remove it
Last edited by linuxviolin on Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby gandalfito753 on Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:42 am

Thank you, it worked.

But now I have another problem.... It sais me that library libc6 must be reinstalled, but I cannot achieve it with
Code: Select all
apt-get install libc6
, because I become exactly the same error, libc6 may be reinstalled.

Do you know how could I do it
Thank you!!
gandalfito753
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:43 am

Postby linuxviolin on Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:27 am

Maybe try in synaptic. Select libc6, right-click and select reinstall...
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby gandalfito753 on Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:50 am

When I enter synaptic, I receive a message that sais something like "a paket is broken, please solve this problem". Ok, no problem until here. But then, when I click on 'defekt paket reparate' it sais me

Code: Select all
E: libc6 may be reinstalled, but the Archive was not found


so we are still on the same point. And if I try to do anything else, it sais me 'please repair the defect pakets before'

any sugestions??
gandalfito753
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:43 am

Postby linuxviolin on Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:19 am

gandalfito753 wrote:"a paket is broken, please solve this problem"


I'm not in Mint today but I think in Synaptic you should find an entry "repair the broken packages" (maybe under edition, sorry my memory is a little lacking to me) After this "repair" try again libc6
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby gandalfito753 on Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:30 am

my problem is I become this error when I try to install libc6, but also when I try to 'repair defekt pakets'....
So0 the problem is I can't re-install/repair libc6 from sypnactic or from terminal


Code: Select all
E: Das Paket libc6 muss reinstalliert werden, ich kann aber kein Archiv dafür finden.
(E: The paket libc6 may be reinstalled, but no Archive was found)

E: Interner Fehler beim Öffnen des Zwischenspeichers (1). Bitte melden Sie diesen Fehler.
(E: Intern Error while opening buffer (1). Please notify of this error)

[/code]
gandalfito753
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:43 am

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:58 am

Try
Code: Select all
dpkg --configure -a

There are also some apt-get commands to use
Code: Select all
apt-get -f install
and more if needed
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby scorp123 on Sun Sep 16, 2007 9:49 am

gandalfito753 wrote: deb http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ etch main
Why oh why? Debian "Etch" is an entirely different distro with totally different version numbers and library versions. You don't fill gasoline into a vehicle with a diesel engine, right? And you don't fill diesel into a vehicle with a gasoline engine, right?

What happened here is that probably Mint's Synaptic thought it would be great to "upgrade" itself with Etch's Synaptic (probably a higher version number or something?) and then all the dependencies underneath seriously got f**ked up.

Never do that!! You cannot do "distro mixes" like that. Just because Mint is based on Ubuntu, and Ubuntu is based on Debian, doesn't mean that you can deliberately mix packages and repo sources.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby Husse on Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:24 pm

This is outside my knowledge -
would it be possible to reinstall synaptic in this case?
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get --purge remove synaptic
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install synaptic
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby gandalfito753 on Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:43 am

I still get messages about this libc6....

when I type
Code: Select all
 dpkg --configure -a
I get

dpkg: Dependece problem from libc6-dev:
libc6-dev depends from libc6, but libc6 is not installed


and so on for libexpat1 and synaptic. At the end it says

Errors when working with
libc6-dev
libexpat1
synaptic


and when doing
Code: Select all
apt-get -f install
it sais the same from allways,
libc6 must be reinstalled, but the archive was not found


I must confess I am really annoyed with this errors, does anyone know where can be the root of this problem?

Thank you in advance for all the help
gandalfito753
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:43 am

Postby nick on Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:53 am

I must confess I am really annoyed with this errors, does anyone know where can be the root of this problem?


You originally had the Debian repos enabled, therefore packages were installed that are totally incompatible with the Ubuntu system.


Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby gandalfito753 on Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:10 am

And how can I do disable this 'repos' Debian, delete this incompatible packages and install ones that are fully compatible??
gandalfito753
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:43 am

Postby Husse on Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:47 am

You remove the line containing debian as instructed above
If you've done that - bad luck - reinstall because then your system is probably to messed up so it's not meaningful to try to repair it
First move home to it's own partition if you have not already
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... _partition
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests