Synaptic, Add/Remove not working

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Synaptic, Add/Remove not working

Postby pashabear on Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:04 am

Hello, just got Mint installed, I'm very glad it works with my internet setup (Suse has problems). However, although I can use Firefox to browse the web (like right now), Mint can't seem to check for updates or download new programs through Synaptic or the add/remove selection under Applications. It just sits on "Downloading", then times out.
Please help!
Thanks
pb
User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby scorp123 on Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:26 am

Are you behind a proxy?
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby pashabear on Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:57 am

No, I am using a D-Link wi-fi router in conjunction with my (also D-Link) dsl modem though.
User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Postby scorp123 on Sat Jan 06, 2007 7:00 am

pashabear wrote:No, I am using a D-Link wi-fi router in conjunction with my (also D-Link) dsl modem though.
And this happens everytime? What's your bandwidth? And does only happen with synaptic (= "Add/Remove Software") or also with other programs that access the Internet?

Also, could you please post the output (copy & paste) of this command:
Code: Select all
sudo cat /etc/apt/sources.list
When it asks for a password, you have to type your own password, OK?
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby pashabear on Mon Jan 08, 2007 10:08 am

Well, Synaptic and the Add/Remove programs applet are the first places I noticed the problem, Gaim can't seem to get connected either. As I mentioned Firefox works fine, I also have the "DownThemAll" Add-on installed and it chugs away happily.
My connection is certainly nothing special, 128 kbps ADSL. Anyway, here are the contents of my sources.list:

## comments (##) in front of any line to remove it from being checked.
## Use the following sources.list at your own risk.

deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy main restricted universe multiverse

deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-proposed main restricted universe multiverse

## MAJOR BUG FIX UPDATES produced after the final release
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-updates main restricted universe multiverse

## UBUNTU SECURITY UPDATES
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-security main restricted universe multiverse

## BACKPORTS REPOSITORY (Unsupported. May contain illegal packages. Use at own risk.)
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-backports main restricted universe multiverse

## CANONICAL COMMERCIAL REPOSITORY (Hosted on Canonical servers, not Ubuntu
## servers. RealPlayer10, Opera, DesktopSecure and more to come.)
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu edgy-commercial main

# AMAROK 1.4.4
deb http://kubuntu.org/packages/amarok-144 edgy main

deb http://linuxmint.com/repository edgy main
User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Postby scorp123 on Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:25 pm

pashabear wrote:As I mentioned Firefox works fine, I also have the "DownThemAll" Add-on installed and it chugs away happily.
My connection is certainly nothing special, 128 kbps ADSL.
Can you check Firefox if there is a proxy setting? And if you open a terminal and ping a host, do you get any reply back? e.g.
Code: Select all
ping archive.ubuntu.com
Here on my machine I get this reply:
Code: Select all
ping archive.ubuntu.com
PING archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 195.248.90.35: icmp_seq=1 ttl=52 time=42.9 ms
64 bytes from 195.248.90.35: icmp_seq=2 ttl=52 time=42.9 ms
64 bytes from 195.248.90.35: icmp_seq=3 ttl=52 time=42.8 ms
64 bytes from 195.248.90.35: icmp_seq=4 ttl=52 time=42.8 ms
64 bytes from 195.248.90.35: icmp_seq=5 ttl=52 time=42.0 ms
64 bytes from 195.248.90.35: icmp_seq=6 ttl=52 time=42.7 ms
64 bytes from 195.248.90.35: icmp_seq=7 ttl=52 time=43.2 ms
64 bytes from 195.248.90.35: icmp_seq=8 ttl=52 time=42.7 ms

--- archive.ubuntu.com ping statistics ---
8 packets transmitted, 8 received, 0% packet loss, time 6997ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 42.095/42.820/43.243/0.413 ms
Also: Did you check your provider's documentation? Maybe you have to use a certain proxy server?
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby Wise_One on Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:19 am

Hello. Just got registered. I experience the exact same problem. After the ping test, here's what I get...
Code: Select all
There will be big changes for you but you will be happy.
wiseone@wiseone-desktop:~$ ping archive.ubuntu.com
PING archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=1 ttl=43 time=160 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=2 ttl=42 time=162 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=3 ttl=43 time=164 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=4 ttl=42 time=171 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=5 ttl=43 time=168 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=6 ttl=43 time=174 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=7 ttl=43 time=173 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=8 ttl=43 time=169 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=9 ttl=43 time=162 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=10 ttl=43 time=163 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=11 ttl=42 time=160 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=12 ttl=42 time=167 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=13 ttl=42 time=168 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=14 ttl=42 time=160 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=15 ttl=43 time=163 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=16 ttl=43 time=162 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=17 ttl=43 time=170 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=18 ttl=43 time=164 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=19 ttl=43 time=164 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=20 ttl=43 time=172 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=22 ttl=43 time=161 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=23 ttl=42 time=161 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=24 ttl=43 time=166 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=25 ttl=42 time=161 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=26 ttl=43 time=162 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=27 ttl=43 time=162 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=28 ttl=42 time=160 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=29 ttl=43 time=164 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=30 ttl=43 time=161 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=31 ttl=43 time=163 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=32 ttl=42 time=161 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=33 ttl=42 time=159 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=34 ttl=43 time=164 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=35 ttl=43 time=170 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=37 ttl=43 time=166 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=38 ttl=42 time=159 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=39 ttl=43 time=172 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=40 ttl=43 time=159 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=41 ttl=42 time=160 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=42 ttl=43 time=166 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=43 ttl=42 time=172 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=44 ttl=43 time=161 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=45 ttl=43 time=165 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=46 ttl=43 time=164 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=47 ttl=43 time=160 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=48 ttl=43 time=161 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=49 ttl=43 time=159 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=50 ttl=42 time=164 ms

--- archive.ubuntu.com ping statistics ---
50 packets transmitted, 48 received, 4% packet loss, time 49088ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 159.507/164.675/174.202/4.168 ms
wiseone@wiseone-desktop:~$
Wise_One
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:15 am

Postby clem on Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:37 am

Looks like either a proxy or firewall problem. Check firefox to see if it's using a proxy. Check that no firewall is blocking access.

Clem.
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5541
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Wise_One on Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:54 am

Firefox can connect to the internet.

The Synaptic Manager has the problem.
Wise_One
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:15 am

Postby scorp123 on Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:09 am

Wise_One wrote:Firefox can connect to the internet.

The Synaptic Manager has the problem.
Sounds like a proxy problem to me. Synaptic is using its own proxy settings. If those are not properly set then you will have problems.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby Wise_One on Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:02 pm

Can you give me some more info? Actually I don't know about proxies or how they work...
Wise_One
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:15 am

Postby pashabear on Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:14 pm

Here's what I get with the ping test:

pasha@Pooh:~$ ping archive.ubuntu.com
PING archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=1 ttl=48 time=152 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=2 ttl=48 time=149 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=3 ttl=48 time=152 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=4 ttl=48 time=153 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=5 ttl=48 time=151 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=6 ttl=48 time=152 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=7 ttl=48 time=152 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=8 ttl=48 time=151 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=9 ttl=48 time=152 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=10 ttl=48 time=151 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=11 ttl=48 time=151 ms
64 bytes from archive.ubuntu.com (195.248.90.35): icmp_seq=12 ttl=48 time=151 ms

--- archive.ubuntu.com ping statistics ---
13 packets transmitted, 12 received, 7% packet loss, time 11999ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 149.937/151.950/153.131/0.856 ms
pasha@Pooh:~$

The thing is, I'm _not_ behind a proxy server, Firefox is set to "Direct connection to the Internet" (in Edit/Preferences/Advanced/Network/Settings)

Seems pretty strange... Windoze works fine, both for email & web.
pb
User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Postby pashabear on Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:21 pm

Here is some more info on my setup... I'm using a D-Link DI-624 Wireless router, and a DSL-500T modem. Actually, I see that the "Firewall" checkbox is selected in the modem setup, can anyone suggest what to do so that it will allow access to Synaptic, Gaim, Evolution etc? I have no experience with this.
Thanks
pb
User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Postby pashabear on Fri Feb 23, 2007 3:56 am

Well, I just downloaded Bianca and installed, but still have the same problems with Internet access. No one gave any advice for setting up the firewall, please help!
Thanks in advance
User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Postby scorp123 on Fri Feb 23, 2007 4:31 am

pashabear wrote:Here is some more info on my setup... I'm using a D-Link DI-624 Wireless router, and a DSL-500T modem. Actually, I see that the "Firewall" checkbox is selected in the modem setup, can anyone suggest what to do so that it will allow access to Synaptic, Gaim, Evolution etc? I have no experience with this.
Thanks
Synaptic uses http and ftp to download its stuff, so technically it's no different than when you access the Internet from a web browser. I'd suggest you check your firewall settings and consult the manuals for your hardware? If you don't have manuals I suggest you go to the hardwaremaker's web site and look for the manuals there? Most manufactors offer their manuals as PDF for download and they should have a support forum too I guess where you could ask about e.g. how the router should be setup so that all out-going connections are allowed, but no unwanted incoming connections.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: expat_tony and 15 guests