UAE ??? - any guru's out there?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

UAE ??? - any guru's out there?

Postby eriktheunready on Tue Oct 30, 2007 6:39 am

Has anyone gotten UAE to work on mint? It works just groovy on xandros and Suse, but not damn on Mint.
It seems to be an inherited fault from Ubuntu , as it wont run on feisty either.

Are there any guru's out there that have nay insight into this?
All I get is a core dump, regardless of any settings I change.

"Building CPU table for configuration: 68020
1866 CPU functions
Building CPU function table (2 0).
Using 24 bit visual, 32 bits per pixel
Using normal image buffer.
Segmentation fault (core dumped)"
eriktheunready
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 6:32 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: UAE ??? - any guru's out there?

Postby poision on Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:35 pm

Well not getting what ya want actually here is one link hope this ll help you
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-73405.html
regards
Last edited by poision on Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby merlwiz79 on Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:26 am

Add this to your sources list and install e-uae

Celena:
Code: Select all
deb http://morgoth.free.fr/ubuntu  feisty-backports  main
Daryna:
Code: Select all
deb http://morgoth.free.fr/ubuntu gutsy-backports main

Add key:
Code: Select all
wget -O - http://morgoth.free.fr/files/morgoth-signkey.gpg.asc | sudo apt-key add -

Now you have the emulator installed, but still need the kickstart. This can only be downloaded legally for free if you own an old Amiga with the adequate (in this case version 1.3) Kickstart Rom.
Code: Select all
wget "http://www.theoldcomputer.com/Libarary's/Emulation/BIOS_Roms/Kickstart1.3.zip"

Alternatively you can buy the full range of Amiga Kickstart's here: http://www.amigaforever.com/ or roll one of your own using your old Amiga and Workbench Floppy (see http://ale.emuunlim.com/guides/get-kick-rom.shtml and http://www.pcguru.plus.com/linux_uae_faq.html ).

Unpack and copy the kickstart.roms into a folder in your home directory fx. to
Code: Select all
/home/USERNAME/amiga/roms

Open terminal, not as root(Not sudo), and run.
Code: Select all
uae

Settings:
1. click Memory/change Kickstart ROM file and set it to the Amiga rom you want to use. fx. /home/USERNAME/amiga/roms/KICK13.ROM, for standard Amiga 500 rom.
2. click Gameports and make sure the selection here is to your liking. And now finally.
Loading games:
1. Click Floppy Disk and insert the .adf you want into DF0:
2. If the game has more disks you can insert disk2 in DF1:
3. Click Start
Use F12+s to toggle fullscreen view.
Games: http://amiga.nvg.org/warlock/adf/search.phtml
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

UAE ??? - any guru's out there?

Postby eriktheunready on Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:30 am

thank you, thank you, thank you.


what is the difference between uae & e-uae ??

Thanks, for the advice, but I have cloanto's amiga forever kickrom's, plus I have some old stiffy's lying about. ever since my amiga500 died when I was a kid, I have been burning to take those assembly scene demo's apart... :o)
eriktheunready
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 6:32 am

Postby merlwiz79 on Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:17 pm

E-UAE is suppose to be more stable and has fullscreen support.
For more info about the project look here.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/uaedev/
http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bicky, Dean28, rogue_mouser and 19 guests