Mintmenu in XFCE

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mintmenu in XFCE

Postby wubuntu on Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:16 am

Hi,

is it possible to use the mintmenu in XFCE?

I just added the Xfapplet to the panel and selcted the MintMenu,

atfer that a system-message appears:

Code: Select all
'LinuxMint Menu could not be loaded'
An internal error occured and the applet could not be loaded


Can anybody eplain me that problem and/or could help to solve?


Thanx in advance


wubuntu
User avatar
wubuntu
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:27 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:38 am

No you can't load mintMenu in xfce especially if you mean the xfce edition. It depends on Python and something more I don't remember right now
It's also a bit hungry for memory
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby wubuntu on Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:11 pm

yep, i mean the daryna beta xfce ce.

i think i've read a post about that topic (possibly not in this forum) that i it would work but i cannot find it anymore...

hmm...
Thinkpad R31
Ubuntu "Gutsy" Gnome
LinuxMint "Daryna" XFCE
Debian "Etch" Gnome
WinXP
User avatar
wubuntu
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:27 pm

Postby Husse on Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:36 pm

i think i've read a post about that topic

Now that you mention it - so have I and the basic content was - well sort of
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... 3217#23217
I try to remember everything and here I remembered wrong - the problem is that it gets really slow...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby merlwiz79 on Wed Nov 14, 2007 9:21 pm

Husse wrote:
i think i've read a post about that topic

Now that you mention it - so have I and the basic content was - well sort of
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... 3217#23217
I try to remember everything and here I remembered wrong - the problem is that it gets really slow...
The new one loads faster.
Here is a way to try and fix it.
Run this in terminal.
Code: Select all
sudo apt purge mintmenu xfce4-xfapplet-plugin

Now install this version of mintmenu that I changed to use XFCE CE settings instead.
http://www.4shared.com/file/29325612/be ... _i386.html
I have yet to find a way to stop it from filtering out Xfce only apps.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby wubuntu on Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:55 am

Thanx to u Husse and merlwiz79,


I' gonna try this.
User avatar
wubuntu
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:27 pm

Postby wubuntu on Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:04 am

hmm, I've got te same error message :?

Code: Select all
'LinuxMint Menu could not be loaded'
An internal error occured and the applet could not be loaded
User avatar
wubuntu
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:27 pm

Postby merlwiz79 on Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:21 am

wubuntu wrote:hmm, I've got te same error message :?

Code: Select all
'LinuxMint Menu could not be loaded'
An internal error occured and the applet could not be loaded
Did you purge xfapplet?
Go to Configuration editor.
/apps/xfapplet and unset key for all the things listed in applet_x that have linux mint in it.
Purge xfapplet then install the .deb you downloaded it will reinstall xfapplet for you.

I had the same problem, but that's what I did and its been running for 8hrs with no problems.
I don't save my sessions, but did test this and it worked after a reboot of a saved session.

Image
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby wubuntu on Thu Nov 15, 2007 6:27 am

yep, I did purge the xfapplet.

but nothing has changed after installing your package.

It's not very important for me - I just wanted to test how this menu
works in xfce.
I#M using the mintmenu in ubuntu 7.10 with Gnome - therefore...

Thank u very much merlwiz79 - maybe I'm gonna try it again.

And if you find another solution - perhaps U can post it.


greez wubuntu
User avatar
wubuntu
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:27 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests