Pidgin Problems help??

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Pidgin Problems help??

Postby Kynan on Fri Nov 23, 2007 10:44 am

Hi guys i use pidgin with a hotmail account and i have a rather strange problem and it seems i'm not the only one i've tried this on other computers running mint and i seem to get the same problem with even another hotmail account.

The problem is when i open my inbox using pidgin it will open my hotmail inbox in firefox first time no problem but will not the second time or any time after that. It will instead come up saying incorrect username or password. I have tried 3 different versions of Pidgin and the problem is always the same. Amsn works fine tho, i'm thinking i may stick with it instead unless someone can solve this mystery for me.

Thanks Kynan.
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Pidgin Problems help??

Postby Husse on Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:11 pm

IM is not something I use....
I've found this:
what are the settings under the advanced tab for msn within pidgin
server should be: messenger.hotmail.com
port: 1863
http method server: gateway.messenger.hotmail.com
and tell it to use whatever proxy settings your web browser is using

This may affect password as well
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Pidgin Problems help??

Postby Kynan on Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:41 am

Thanks for your response. I just installed pidgin 2.3.0 and it has fixed the problem, it must have been a bug.
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: Pidgin Problems help??

Postby Kynan on Thu Nov 29, 2007 8:56 am

False alarm, i had just freshly installed Daryna when i installed new version of pidgin, and after a restart and the installation of updates from mintupdate it is back to not working.... I did look into your advice and my firefox settings connects directly to the internet and therefore doesnt use any proxy settings that im aware of, i tried setting pidgin to not use "no proxy" and "environmental settings" but to no avail, the others all required additional details that i didnt know. And the rest were defaulted to what you had found.
Image
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: Pidgin Problems help??

Postby Husse on Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:24 am

I hope you understand that I don't feel like installing pidgin and see what happens - I am to get a virtual instance going for experiments but I'm not there yet
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kalyk, stephenj and 12 guests