quanta in daryna

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

quanta in daryna

Postby sgla1 on Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:22 am

Quanta in daryna hangs when trying to upload a project. It's essentially useless.

Has anyone else experienced this? Do the kde apps have a problem working in the darya/gnome DE?
sgla1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:15 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: quanta in daryna

Postby Husse on Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:48 am

Basically you can install a KDE app in Gnome and vice versa and Mint has no problems with that.
I don't know much about Quanta but the home page states
Quanta is based on KDE so this means it is network transparent from any dialog or project. It can use not only FTP but other KDE KIO slaves from file dialogs or in project settings.
I think this indicates a possible dependency problem in Gnome. You will have to install the proper KDE libs but when Quanta was installed that should have been done. Synaptic shows a few kde files to be installed
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: quanta in daryna

Postby sgla1 on Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:24 pm

I have the following kde packages installed:

steve@t61p:~$ dpkg -l | grep kde
ii kdebase-bin 4:3.5.8-0ubuntu2 core binaries for the KDE base module
ii kdebase-kio-plugins 4:3.5.8-0ubuntu2 core I/O slaves for KDE
ii kdelibs 4:3.5.8-0ubuntu3.1 core libraries from the official KDE release
ii kdelibs-data 4:3.5.8-0ubuntu3.1 core shared data for all KDE applications
ii kdelibs4c2a 4:3.5.8-0ubuntu3.1 core libraries and binaries for all KDE applications
ii kdesktop 4:3.5.8-0ubuntu2 miscellaneous binaries and files for the KDE desktop
ii kdewebdev-doc-html 4:3.5.8-0ubuntu1 KDE web development documentation in HTML format

What else might be necessary to run quanta?
sgla1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:15 am

Re: quanta in daryna

Postby Husse on Sat Dec 29, 2007 9:01 am

You have the "standard" set for Daryna Gnome (+ kdewebdev-doc-html). That and the files that will be installed together with Quanta should be ok
I'll see if I can find something (but I can't promise...)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: coffee412 and 13 guests