Noob Question

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
xAtom

Noob Question

Post by xAtom »

Hi everyone, I just installed mint for the first time and I'm kinda new to linux in general. I was wondering, when downloading a application i.e. Skype, should I download the Ubuntu version or Debian version?

Thanks
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: Noob Question

Post by xenopeek »

Ah. You can just go into Software Manager (directly in the menu), type Skype to search, and click to install it. You will find that most software can directly be installed from the Software Manager, and you don't need to go to any website and try to figure out the correct file to download. Just open Software Manager, search, and click to install :D (It will always ask for your password to confirm.)

BTW, installing software through Software Manager also ensures you get automatic updates and such for it. So you don't need to install new versions or security updates yourself. All updates will be presented to you by the Update Manager (the white shield icon in your panel bar). Read the user guide (link is in the welcome screen after you login, or find it again by typing "welcome" in the search bar in the menu), which explains both Software Manager and Update Manager to new users.