Installing Starcraft with wine?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Installing Starcraft with wine?

Postby novanosis on Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:06 pm

Hi I am new to linux mint. Now I am here and am happy to say I am pleased to see such a great distro in the works.

Well off to my question. I never installed something with a CD in Wine. I always had an exe file on the desktop and thats how I installed programs for wine. I am trying to install Starcraft in Wine, but not sure how to begin. Any ideas from anyone, maybe you have starcraft installed already who knows. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: What program mounts an ISO image like Dameaon Tools?
novanosis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 6:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Installing Starcraft with wine?

Postby McLovin on Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:09 pm

for games i actually use cedega transgaming, it cost a subscription to to the transgaming web site to download it, (but do a search at "certain" web sites and you can find it), and it works great, you can get it at http://www.transgaming.com/products/cedega/. another thing you can try is winedoors. just look in synaptic for it.
User avatar
McLovin
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 6:53 pm

Re: Installing Starcraft with wine?

Postby molom on Fri Dec 28, 2007 10:28 pm

I could never install 3d games on my computer in Linux Mint because I don't know how to install my nvidea graphics card properly. I've tried envy, but after installing and rebooting, Linux Mint fails to boot and then I have to reconfigure zorg with sudo to the standard graphics drivers that doesn't support 3d capabilities, which means I cant use beryl/compiz or play any 3d games through Linux natively or through Cedega. Could someone help me out.

Cheers,
molom
User avatar
molom
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Installing Starcraft with wine?

Postby newW2 on Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:36 pm

molom - If the Nvidia graphics is capable, did you try uninstalling the previous driver first and then installing the latest Nvidia driver (from tty screen with envy -t if necessary)?

///edit/// on second thought why not post your: /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Somebody may be able to help. Maybe tseliot (did you search on posts by this member?).
User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], jewnersey and 17 guests