java update installation? what directory ect...SOLVED!!

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
minty33

java update installation? what directory ect...SOLVED!!

Post by minty33 »

I want to update java because the "firefox plugin check" says mine is vulnerable and to update immediately - the thing is I have tried this in the past with no success. I have followed the self-extracting file directions I printed below but it says i'm using the old one still when I'm done. Is it because I have to set a new $PATH (if so how) or is it because its not installed in the right directory or do i have to get rid of the old one first? what's confusing is which one is the right one. jre-6u28 (old udate) is in my firefox directory and /etc and other directories have sim links or other jre files - I am a noob and unfamiliar with this type of thing. the question is in what directory as root do I run the self-extracting file for a system wide installation, also does anything need to be done prior or after running the self-extracting bin file. lastly if anyone can give me or direct me to good tutorial on how to understand where and how to do non-package manager installations and updates I think I need to understand how my environment/PATH and sim links work and what directories should hold what files/programs genrally. anyway the last part may be asking too much so if it is the java update is the main thing. thanx in advance . I'm using MINT 11 Katya

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To install the Linux (self-extracting) file
Follow these instructions:

Change the permission of the file you downloaded to be executable. Type:
chmod a+x jre-6u<version>-linux-i586.bin
Verify that you have permission to execute the file. Type:
ls -l