Trouble running apps in WINE

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
lotster

Trouble running apps in WINE

Post by lotster »

Hi

I'm not a complete noob, but I'm new to Linux Mint after getting frustrated with Ubuntu's Unity and Microsoft telling me my (legal) copy of Windows 7 is pirated. So far I'm impressed with Mint, and I would like to stick with it. However, to do that satisfactorily, I will need to get Skyrim and Lord of the Rings Online running in Wine. I installed Wine, and I also used Winetricks to install xact, vcrun2008 and d3dx9_42. According to some other forum posts that should do it. However, no matter what executables I try to run, nothing happens. Well, not nothing, exactly; the screen flickers a few times, and there's a message on the panel at the bottom of my screen that says that it's loading, but after a few seconds it just disappears and nothing happens. Can anyone please tell me what to do about this? I'm quite desperate; I really want Linux Mint to be my new OS.

Thank you!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
barko

Re: Trouble running apps in WINE

Post by barko »

Not all wine versions are working with all windows software....i can't run for example perfect world with latest wine versions but i can with 1.3.15. So maybe you should try different wine versions. For that you will need this one: PlayOnLinux.
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17

Re: Trouble running apps in WINE

Post by remoulder »

lotster wrote: Can anyone please tell me what to do about this?
Please look for support on applications in wine at http://appdb.winehq.org/
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.