World of Warcraft in Mint?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

World of Warcraft in Mint?

Postby Matters on Sun Jan 20, 2008 11:19 pm

Hi Guys,

I am new to mint and relatively new to Linux.

I am running a dual boot with Ubuntu and Mint and am having a strange issue, World of Warcraft runs wine under WINE in Ubuntu (Gutsy) but hangs at the log in screen in Mint. I am using the same WoW files and the same version of Wine.

The only difference I can think of is that in Mint I am using Envy for my graphics drivers (nVidia GeForce 6 series with 128 mb Graphics ram in a laptop).

I tried uninstalling the nVidia drivers in Envy but all that did was throw me into the low graphics mode (after a reboot) I don't know how to get mint to just use the regular (restricted) drivers.

Any thoughts?
Matters
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: World of Warcraft in Mint?

Postby Rob Loach on Mon Jan 21, 2008 8:46 am

You'll want to install the package "wine-doors" from the Synaptic Package Manager. Wine Doors handles the installation of Windows applications, like DirectX and World of Warcraft. Although I haven't tried WoW specifically, I've seen it happen.
Rob Loach
Level 1
Level 1

Postby Matters on Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:09 pm

Thanks for the tip, I hadn't used wine-doors before and I shall in the future, installation however was not the problem.

I am quite certain the problem is a result of Envy and how mint is handling my graphics, does anyone know how to get rid of envy and go back to just the regular restricted drivers? The restricted drivers manager says I have the driver enabled, just not in use.

P.S. I also tried using crossover 6.2 (officially supports WoW) and it says the problem is with starting 3D graphics.
Matters
Level 1
Level 1

Postby newW2 on Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:28 pm

Funny. I had WoW running on a 5100 Nvidia card using envy to install the graphics driver.