Problem with add-apt-repository. Cannot add PPA's.

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Problem with add-apt-repository. Cannot add PPA's.

Postby ocafu on Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:21 am

Hello!

I don't know exactly what seems to be the cause of this issue since it used to work fine after a new install. I've added some PPA until one day (must have done something, but I don't know what!) it just stopped working. This is what I do:

I add any new PPA source (for instance):

Code: Select all
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:satyajit-happy/themes


I get the normal alert message:

Code: Select all
You are about to add the following PPA to your system:
 Themes by Satya
 This PPA contains various themes for Gnome 3, Gnome Shell etc.
 More info: https://launchpad.net/~satyajit-happy/+archive/themes
Press ENTER to continue or ctrl-c to cancel adding it

And, after hitting ENTER, I get is this:
Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/add-apt-repository", line 98, in <module>
    sp = SoftwareProperties(options=options)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/softwareproperties/SoftwareProperties.py", line 96, in __init__
    self.reload_sourceslist()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/softwareproperties/SoftwareProperties.py", line 580, in reload_sourceslist
    self.distro.get_sources(self.sourceslist)   
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/aptsources/distro.py", line 91, in get_sources
    raise NoDistroTemplateException("Error: could not find a "
aptsources.distro.NoDistroTemplateException: Error: could not find a distribution template


An echo $? command, obviously yields a result of 1 therefore, I cannot add new PPAs to my system sources.

The funny thing is that I can't even access the Repositories via Synaptic GUI. I just get a weird message that says "Repositories have changed" and it only allows me to reload the sources and retrieve any new update, but I can't actually get to the sources dialog window to modify stuff! Really strange.

The only way I've found I can get to the view the sources list in a GUI is using Ubuntu Tweak tool, which I don't really like. I think it messes things up a bit. I prefer good ol' Synaptic!

Anyway, the reality is that I've lost sources functionality is messed up and I can't pin-point where the problem is.

By the way, I'm on Mint 12 "Lisa".

Could somebody please give me some advice? Thanks.
ocafu
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:35 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problem with add-apt-repository. Cannot add PPA's.

Postby remoulder on Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:14 am

Try using inxi -r to list your sources.
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7667
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Problem with add-apt-repository. Cannot add PPA's.

Postby ocafu on Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:21 pm

remoulder, thanks for the tip. It works, I get my sources list on the console, but that's not the problem.

What I need is to know why I can't add new PPA repositories nor access the software sources dialog window with Synaptic. I'm stuck with the current repositories and I want to have the "normal" functionality restored: add/remove repositories, purge PPAs, etc, ...
ocafu
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:35 am

Re: Problem with add-apt-repository. Cannot add PPA's.

Postby ocafu on Fri Jan 13, 2012 10:02 am

Hello? Can anybody please help?
ocafu
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:35 am

Re: Problem with add-apt-repository. Cannot add PPA's.

Postby ocafu on Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:58 pm

Hooray!! I fixed it!
I had uninstalled the "mintupdate" utility and it seems to break the add-apt-repository functionality (!!) Very very weird! If someone has the same problem, reinstalling de Mint update package repairs it. At least in my case :-)

Bye!
ocafu
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:35 am

Re: Problem with add-apt-repository. Cannot add PPA's.

Postby Pvnkmrksk on Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:12 am

ocafu wrote:Hooray!! I fixed it!
I had uninstalled the "mintupdate" utility and it seems to break the add-apt-repository functionality (!!) Very very weird! If someone has the same problem, reinstalling de Mint update package repairs it. At least in my case :-)

Bye!


Thank you. Had the same problem. The fix worked well :D Any idea why it happens? :evil:
Pvnkmrksk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 11:37 am
Location: Bangalore, India

Re: Problem with add-apt-repository. Cannot add PPA's.

Postby mody on Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:17 am

Hi,
I've the same problem and fixed it by editing:
/etc/lsb-release
and
/usr/share/python-apt/templates/LinuxMint.info

In the first file, I've changed DISTRIB_CODENAME= to oneiric.
In the second file, I've made a copy of whole "Suite: jaunty" section and changed all "jaunty" to "oneiric".

After this change, added ppas are for the correct distribution.

HTH,
Mody
mody
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:18 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fo0hzy, Shankaraya and 30 guests