Virtualbox installs

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Virtualbox installs

Postby civint on Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:58 pm

when I install a distro in virtualbox (in this case, debian sid), does it recognise all the hardware that I have on my pc at the moment (in terms of graphics cards and processors)?
I ask, because I thought it might be quite handy if I installed partition image, and after an install I could just restore the root partition to the one created in virtualbox, with all the correct stuff installed and configured so that I know it works. It's probably a long shot, but I thought I'd check ;)
Image
User avatar
civint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:56 am
Location: A long time ago, yet somehow in the future...

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Virtualbox installs

Postby Husse on Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:50 pm

It's not called Virtualbox for nothing
It uses a virtual hard disk and virtual graphics card etc...
The virtual hard disk is a file in the normal file system....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Virtualbox installs

Postby grimdestripador on Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:22 am

Virtualbox does not allow direct access to memory, only its own virtual memory. Virtual box also emulates a harddrive, using a container file; so virtual box doesn't have access to your base operating system. If you want to directly access a drive, I believe that VMworkstation has a setting to access hd's in the raw; but even then, it must be an unmounted disk.
User avatar
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:26 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nefnef, wuftanoz and 23 guests