mint-menu on debian etch?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

mint-menu on debian etch?

Postby sam_uk on Fri Feb 29, 2008 3:23 pm

Hi I run mint on one of my machines. I like the mint menu a lot. I also like Debian etch and would like to be able to use the mint-menu on that. It installed it OK from the by downloading the packages from the Daryana repos. However when i try to add the menu to the panel 'The panel encountered a problem while loading "OAFIID:GNOME_mintMenu".'

I appreciate that this is not supported but i read somewhere that there was a build of mint done from Debian. Is the mint-menu package for Debian availible somewhere? or how could i compile it?

Thanks

Sam
sam_uk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 3:15 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: mint-menu on debian etch?

Postby Husse on Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:54 am

I think this is a bit hard
Check in the debian edition forum
viewforum.php?f=141
The Debian edition is mostly "experimental"
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: mint-menu on debian etch?

Postby Acid7711 on Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:10 am

It's been quite a while since I've done it, as I've stopped using mint-menu altogether for like 1/2 a year now preferring the standard gnome style menu instead. However, I did have mint-menu installed over on Arch before. Like I said, I don't remember how exactly I did it, it wasn't that difficult though. I believe I extracted the rpm to the default directories and it just worked. Might be worth a try.
User avatar
Acid7711
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:06 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: mint-menu on debian etch?

Postby sam_uk on Sun Mar 02, 2008 12:08 pm

RPM?

Sorry i don't understand. I thought that Mint has always been .deb based. I have installed the .deb but it does not work. (gives the error that I quoted in my initial post.)

Any further help appreciated.
sam_uk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 3:15 pm

Re: mint-menu on debian etch?

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 02, 2008 4:17 pm

Yes I saw that too - I think it's a typo - or?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GiantGerman and 16 guests