SOLVED - MIRO

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

SOLVED - MIRO

Postby lanrun on Sat Mar 01, 2008 5:56 pm

I installed miro from synaptic. It crashes just a few seconds after I starts it. I couldn't figure out a solution from earlier posts on miro.
Anyone got a clue?
Last edited by lanrun on Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
lanrun
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:31 am
Location: Lillehammer - Norway

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: MIRO

Postby iironjade on Sat Mar 01, 2008 7:55 pm

You have to install java 6 icedtea via Synaptic to make Miro work.
"A good many dramatic situations begin with screaming."
iironjade
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:51 am
Location: London UK

SOLVED - Re: MIRO

Postby lanrun on Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:50 am

I couldn't find Java6 but installed icedtea java7. It worked. Thanks a lot.
lanrun
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:31 am
Location: Lillehammer - Norway

Re: SOLVED - Re: MIRO

Postby iironjade on Sun Mar 02, 2008 12:42 pm

lanrun wrote:I couldn't find Java6 but installed icedtea java7. It worked. Thanks a lot.


Sorry, after 23:30 I lose the ability to count. I should've said Java 7. :oops:
"A good many dramatic situations begin with screaming."
iironjade
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:51 am
Location: London UK

Re: SOLVED - MIRO

Postby lanrun on Wed Mar 05, 2008 4:21 am

I discovered a problem with installing the icedtea-java7.
This made the sun-java6 plugin for FIREFOX stop working for me. JAVA applets in FIREFOX didn't initialize.
So the I had to remove icedtea-java7 again.
lanrun
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:31 am
Location: Lillehammer - Norway

Re: SOLVED - MIRO

Postby iironjade on Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:57 am

lanrun wrote:I discovered a problem with installing the icedtea-java7.
This made the sun-java6 plugin for FIREFOX stop working for me. JAVA applets in FIREFOX didn't initialize.
So the I had to remove icedtea-java7 again.


Try removing java6 and then reinstalling java7.
"A good many dramatic situations begin with screaming."
iironjade
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:51 am
Location: London UK

Re: SOLVED - MIRO

Postby lanrun on Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:12 am

iironjade wrote:
lanrun wrote:I discovered a problem with installing the icedtea-java7.
This made the sun-java6 plugin for FIREFOX stop working for me. JAVA applets in FIREFOX didn't initialize.
So the I had to remove icedtea-java7 again.


Try removing java6 and then reinstalling java7.

Hello!

Just tried to remove sun-java6, then installing icedtea-java7.
JAVA applets in FIREFOX then stopped working.
So I removed icedtea-java7 and reinstalled sun-java6.
JAVA applets in FIREFOX works again.

It must be something with the plugin module form icedtea-java7.
lanrun
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:31 am
Location: Lillehammer - Norway

Re: SOLVED - MIRO

Postby iironjade on Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:34 pm

Sorry you're having such trouble but that's the limit of my knowledge (which came from another post on here). It worked for me with no problem but any other suggestions I might make would be pure guesswork.
"A good many dramatic situations begin with screaming."
iironjade
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:51 am
Location: London UK

Re: SOLVED - MIRO

Postby lanrun on Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:50 am

iironjade wrote:Sorry you're having such trouble but that's the limit of my knowledge (which came from another post on here). It worked for me with no problem but any other suggestions I might make would be pure guesswork.


It is interesting to try out new things.
It is strange that this works on your installation. Do you run Daryna Main Edition?
If so, it means your installation must be different from mine in some way.
lanrun
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:31 am
Location: Lillehammer - Norway

Re: SOLVED - MIRO

Postby iironjade on Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:30 am

As far as I know it's the main edition. It might be worth uninstalling Miro and the older java and starting over but that's just a guess. There's nothing out of the ordinary about my setup that I know of. Maybe Miro has a help link on its website, check that before you do anything drastic. :)
"A good many dramatic situations begin with screaming."
iironjade
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:51 am
Location: London UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests