AutoInstall of ATI drivers didn't set VideoOverlay

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

AutoInstall of ATI drivers didn't set VideoOverlay

Postby oryan_dunn on Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:28 pm

Overall, I've very impressed with Linux Mint. Things seemed to work right out of the box. It installed my ATI driver for me. The only thing I had to look around for a fix was my DVD playback. It had really bad screen tearing and interlace artifacts. Turns out, I had to set Option "VideoOverlay" "on" in my xorg.conf file. Just as a suggestion, if you install the ATI driver, have it also set this option.

I'll continue to evaluate 4.0 and will most likely recommending the LTS release to some of my family memebers as a replacement for Vista.
oryan_dunn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: AutoInstall of ATI drivers didn't set VideoOverlay

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 23, 2008 1:47 pm

That's nice to hear :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: AutoInstall of ATI drivers didn't set VideoOverlay

Postby oryan_dunn on Sun Mar 23, 2008 5:55 pm

Is there somewhere in particular I should request that the ATI driver install script add the videooverlay on to the xorg.conf file?
oryan_dunn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:23 pm

Re: AutoInstall of ATI drivers didn't set VideoOverlay

Postby Husse on Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:06 pm

I don't know but it could be that not all computers are happy with that....
If you used Envy ask Alberto - you can find a link in the planet
(just add /planet to our url if you don't have it bookmarked)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: AutoInstall of ATI drivers didn't set VideoOverlay

Postby oryan_dunn on Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:02 pm

Husse wrote:I don't know but it could be that not all computers are happy with that....
If you used Envy ask Alberto - you can find a link in the planet
(just add /planet to our url if you don't have it bookmarked)


I guess that could be why. Maybe it could be possible for Totem to pop up a message when trying the xv driver and it doesn't work saying something like "Video overlay doesn't seem to work. The DVD will still play, but with a degraded quality." This way the user would know where to start looking when the DVDs look like crap. Now that I've encountered this, I'll always know what to do, but others may not be so lucky.
oryan_dunn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:23 pm

Re: AutoInstall of ATI drivers didn't set VideoOverlay

Postby Husse on Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:54 pm

Even I sometimes sit dumbfounded in front of the computer when it comes to videos playing or not
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests