Quicktime 6 support

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Quicktime 6 support

Postby bth73 on Fri Apr 18, 2008 5:22 am

I have a bonus video file on my Los Lonely Boys CD that's in Quicktime 6 , and I've tried various plug-in's and players with no success. Any solution to this problem?

I should elaborate: I use my computer mainly for multimedia. Ripping DVD's, CD', onto 500 gig hard drives for use with a stand - alone multimedia player, a Buffalo Link Theater that's my DVD player, (plays media directly from USB hard drive).

I've already transfered file to comp. HD And would like to convert it to AVI file. Need help to do that too.

Thanks, The Computer Slayer

P.S. The comp plays it from the CD because the Quicktime player is on the CD, and I assume Wine is handling it. Tried windows Quicktime download onto comp., but no worky. Oh, and when I transfered some files off The CD they came up with little faded lock symbols and now I can't delete them. How do I delete these unwanted files?
THE COMPUTER SLAYER
bth73
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:43 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby Husse on Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:25 am

when I transfered some files off The CD they came up with little faded lock symbols and now I can't delete them.

You would have to be root
Code: Select all
sudo rm file_name

As for quicktime it seems you have to use Wine
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby belovedmonster on Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:35 am

VLC will play any video format under the sun including Quicktime. I use it to play Quicktime files on my Windows machine because the windows versions of Apple apps are pig slow, it's also my default video player on Linux.
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby bth73 on Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:42 pm

bt@bt-desktop:~$ sudo rm XTRAS
rm: cannot remove `XTRAS': Is a directory
bt@bt-desktop:~$

This is what happened.
This is the name of the folder I dragged into my home folder: XTRAS .

And I've tried VLC, and it won't work. Is Quicktime6 too new?
I dropped the file into VLC and hit play and the progress bar just moves rapidly to the right with no sound or video.
THE COMPUTER SLAYER
bth73
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:43 am

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby bth73 on Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:53 pm

Oh no, I think I broke my terminal. Here is what I got with another try:

bt@bt-desktop:~$ sudo rm /bt's Home/XTRAS
> su
> sudo
>

That's my typing for the su, and sudo.

Did I Slay my terminal? I'm kinda llike a bull in a china shop when it comes to computers, I'll just go in and flail around till something works or something breaks.
THE COMPUTER SLAYER
bth73
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:43 am

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby bth73 on Fri Apr 18, 2008 9:46 pm

Now the terminal works but won't take my password.
THE COMPUTER SLAYER
bth73
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:43 am

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby Husse on Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:55 am

How well do you know Linux?
I want to know for the possible answer and I have to think about it for a while
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby belovedmonster on Sat Apr 19, 2008 9:09 am

bth73 wrote:And I've tried VLC, and it won't work. Is Quicktime6 too new?


Lol no. Quicktime 6 is from 2002. Even Quicktime 7 is 3 years old. If VLC wont play it then I dont know what to suggest. VLC plays anything under the sun.
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby Husse on Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:21 pm

sudo rm /bt's Home/XTRAS

You tried to rm a non existing file - there should be no /bt's Home/XTRAS in your system
If you don't understand the commands don't use them - ask first
You see - /bt's Home would be a file or folder in root
You see - you can't have ' in file or folder names
You see - you cant have white space in file or folder names in the terminal so I don't really know what
sudo rm /bt's Home/XTRAS did to your system, but it did not delete XTRAS that I can guarantee you
And I am sorry - I forgot to write "rm -d" would remove a directory (folder) (or some other command I do not want to write here)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby Fred on Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:47 pm

I'll second what Husse just said. Looking at it, I don't know what it might have done. I would have expected a "command not found" or "malformed command" error.

On another note, I read a post just recently, today or yesterday, by Zwopper, about a website that would convert multimedia files for you. But I know nothing more about it. Try searching for his post.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby bth73 on Sun Apr 20, 2008 12:05 am

2months old to linux and not that computer literate. my terminals fine though. and thanks for the help. I'll figure it out eventually. Not sure why it won't play on anything, but I'll keep trying. Maybe try recopying to computer again. I know VLC plays almost everything. I do know enough to use linux instead of the windows virus.
Thanks,
THE COMPUTER SLAYER
bth73
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:43 am

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby bth73 on Wed Apr 23, 2008 5:43 am

Back to trying to play this file.
Here is what the file says it is in properties: application/x-shockwave-flash
Nothing I try plays it including VLC.
This file seemed to transfer fine, copied and pasted to desktop.
When I open with VLC the scroll bar just zips across to the right with no window for video opening and no sound.
The file is 57.8 MB (60653720 bytes) and about 5min long - one song.
Any more ideas??
THE COMPUTER SLAYER
bth73
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:43 am

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby bth73 on Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:58 am

Just saw a post that says that Shockwave flash is not supported due to Adobe. Is this correct?
THE COMPUTER SLAYER
bth73
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:43 am

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby Husse on Wed Apr 23, 2008 5:05 pm

bth73 wrote:Just saw a post that says that Shockwave flash is not supported due to Adobe. Is this correct?

Nope - but it's now called Adobe flash, maybe that's what you saw
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Quicktime 6 support

Postby bth73 on Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:58 pm

Ok, well any idea how to play this file? :Shockwave Flash file, application/x-shockwave-flash, named:video.swf I'd up load it but I'm on dial-up.
THE COMPUTER SLAYER
bth73
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:43 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tommyb. and 8 guests