Looking for RealPlayer

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Looking for RealPlayer

Postby antiquexray on Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:33 pm

This is the deal. I know RealPlayer is going away next release, but when I navigate to a website with audio that I want to open I get the option of going with the default, in this case since I downloaded VLC, or other. I want other; RealPlayer, but can't find it. How can I do this? thanks.
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby bin on Sat Nov 25, 2006 5:49 am

Hi

RealPlayer 10 is part of the default install for Barbara/LinuxMint - so I'm not 100% sure what you mean. For example, if you goto http://www.bbc.co.uk/news and then go down to Video audo news, you should be able to watch any of the items in the embedded RealPlayer. If you have previously chosen a default palyer, then it may be a good idea to rename your /home/yourname/.mozilla folder - this will then receate your local settings next time you start Mozilla and allow you to re-choose.

Alternatively, installing VLC may have kyboshed your system in which case re-installing RealPlayer may help. I've found that many media formats can be played via Totem Movieplayer - it's the only way I can get Classic FM (Kaffeine does the same trick).

Perhaps you could let us know which sites you are having problems with as it may be possible to work out what is going on. If in doubt, try rebooting with the CD -

If you just need to tell a site what to use, but cannot find RealPlayer on your system, the command is just 'realplay'

in light

bin
bin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:12 pm

Postby antiquexray on Sat Nov 25, 2006 9:09 am

bin wrote:If you just need to tell a site what to use, but cannot find RealPlayer on your system, the command is just 'realplay'

bin


Thanks for the reply. In terminal I typed realplay and it launched. What I am asking is if I want to play something with realplayer, how do I do that. In other words, I want to "open with" RealPlayer, but don't know were to find it, It's like looking for the .exe file in windows.
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Postby clem on Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:17 am

There's a great command in Linux.. called "which".

Try to type :

Code: Select all
which realplay


And it will tell where the first PATH's occurence of realplay is (in other words.. where your executable actually is on the filesystem).

FIY, Realplayer is installed in /opt/realplay in Barbara.
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5580
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

looking for real player

Postby tony on Fri Dec 01, 2006 12:20 pm

To run real player or anything else right click the bottom menu bar select ADD to panel scroll down to the bottom select the item that says run application (looks like gear wheels and click add
tony
tony
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:14 am

Postby Iain on Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:58 am

I wish I had not renamed my .mozilla folder. That screwed my Firefox settings, but realplay still does not work.
User avatar
Iain
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: UK

Postby mstlyevil on Sat Mar 10, 2007 3:46 pm

Iain wrote:I wish I had not renamed my .mozilla folder. That screwed my Firefox settings, but realplay still does not work.


Are you using Bea or Bianca? If you are using Bianca just install replayer by typing this in the terminal.

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install realplay


You might want to change the name of your .mozilla folder back first. Realplayer works great installing it from the canonical comercial repo which is included in Bianca.
mstlyevil
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:17 am

Postby alan2273 on Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:09 pm

You can also install it from Automatix 2.
User avatar
alan2273
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: England

Postby NiksaVel on Sun Mar 11, 2007 7:52 pm

What I am asking is if I want to play something with realplayer, how do I do that. In other words, I want to "open with" RealPlayer, but don't know were to find it, It's like looking for the .exe file in windows.


Right click on the file in nautilus (or desktop) and click properties

Click the Open with tab

select the application

if it isn't on the list click add and add it from the list... if it isn't on that list either than click on the custom command and type realplay
User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests