Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty issues

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Warrigal

Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty issues

Post by Warrigal »

Hi. I have just installed Mint 14.1, to replace my Windows 8 install.
My Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion sound card is recognized, but not working.
Does anyone else have one of these cards working ok?
Being a newbie, I am not sure if I am missing something simple.
I read somewhere that from Kernel 3.5 there is support for the 3D Recon series.

My Machine:
AMD Phenom II 1100T
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti
Creative SB Recon3D PCIe Audio Controller
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Dethgrip69

Re: Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty issues

Post by Dethgrip69 »

Thus far, I have not been able to get this to work either. I have just installed Mint 14.1, previously also tried in Ubuntu 12.04. Neither version of Linux would allow for installing my Fatal1ty card drivers. The drivers load, the install begins, but I get the same message each time: "Product not detected on system!" (or something to that effect). I believe this may be a result of a deal with Microsoft to specifically produce this card for Windows only, as I am also unable to locate any Mac OS-X drivers for the product.

A few facts I have noticed over the last few months while attempting this:
1 - This is a rare issue. Not allot of resources can be found across the web referencing this card, or frequency of the issue.
2 - Either not many people purchase this card, or most users who do, use it with Windows.

The card works fantastically in Windows 7. High quality audio that is clean & crisp. This is not a cheap low end card like the Audigy. The card retails at $150. I paid $100 on Amazon.