Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby Nickpick on Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:54 pm

Hi!

I'm running Daryna with an ATI X1400 Mobility Radeon. Every time I set the "Visual Effects" under "Apperance" on anything other than "None" all my video-play back, and games, start flickering (i.e. 1/4 of each second they turn completely back). Any ideas what the problem might be?

Thanks in advance!
"Critical thinking isn't typically an attribute of human mind..." ~~ Richard Dawkins
Toshiba Satellite A100-691; ATI Mobility Radeon x1400; Intel Centrino CoreDuo T2250
ASUS Eee 1002HA
User avatar
Nickpick
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:25 pm
Location: Europe

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby rivenought on Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:05 pm

I just keyed x1400 in the search box in the upper-right corner of the page. There are plenty of threads and posts turning up. You may wish to research further in that area since there seems to be more people who have previously had the same issue as your are experiencing. You will probably find a quick and easy fix. Good luck!
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby Nickpick on Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:36 pm

Solved by installing Elyssa.:D
"Critical thinking isn't typically an attribute of human mind..." ~~ Richard Dawkins
Toshiba Satellite A100-691; ATI Mobility Radeon x1400; Intel Centrino CoreDuo T2250
ASUS Eee 1002HA
User avatar
Nickpick
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:25 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:51 pm

And the problem was compiz with the ATI driver pre Elyssa
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby Nickpick on Mon Jun 09, 2008 6:18 pm

Husse wrote:And the problem was compiz with the ATI driver pre Elyssa


The new controls are quite amazing though. Makes me love this OS even more.:)

EDIT: Actually it does still seem to happen with certain video playback programs.:P
"Critical thinking isn't typically an attribute of human mind..." ~~ Richard Dawkins
Toshiba Satellite A100-691; ATI Mobility Radeon x1400; Intel Centrino CoreDuo T2250
ASUS Eee 1002HA
User avatar
Nickpick
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:25 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby Husse on Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:57 am

It's a well known problem with compiz - but as long as it's easy to switch on and off I think it's something you can live with
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby Nickpick on Tue Jun 10, 2008 1:16 pm

Husse wrote:It's a well known problem with compiz - but as long as it's easy to switch on and off I think it's something you can live with


Seems so. It seems to work fine enough with VLC and MoviePlayer now. The only program, I've experienced issues with so far, was Zattoo and even then, it worked fine with full-screen on. It's no big issue.

On the other hand, is there anyway I can configure the Compliz to turn of when I execute a specific program and then turn back on, once the task is terminated? Just curious. 8)
"Critical thinking isn't typically an attribute of human mind..." ~~ Richard Dawkins
Toshiba Satellite A100-691; ATI Mobility Radeon x1400; Intel Centrino CoreDuo T2250
ASUS Eee 1002HA
User avatar
Nickpick
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:25 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby dnmint on Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:53 am

How does one turn off compliz
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby rivenought on Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:04 am

One way to turn off Compiz is: System > Preferences > Appearance > Visual Effects tab > set to None.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby dnmint on Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:38 pm

rivenought wrote:One way to turn off Compiz is: System > Preferences > Appearance > Visual Effects tab > set to None.

Are there other ways of doing it. I had selected None visual effects. This stopped my Desk top moving across the cube when I scroll the mouse.I presume this will also prevent my making any other settings on the system.
I want to make changes to Visual effects but keep Compliz turned off.
Any mehods of doing it
Thanks
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby rivenought on Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:04 pm

dnmint,

Compiz is what gives you all the snazzy eye-candy effects. If you turn it off, you do not get those snazzy effects anymore.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby -al- on Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:51 pm

I had this issue in felicia (LM6), i was using compiz-fusion to quickly shut down compiz when i was watchin video. However the installation of the latest ATI drivers seemed to have completely resolved the problem.
-al-
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:40 pm

Re: Multimedia blinking when "Visual Effects" not set on None

Postby Husse on Mon Feb 16, 2009 7:43 am

Interesting
the latest ATI drivers

Which ones?
We are many with ATI cards :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests