Plagued By "Get The Latest Quicktime"

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Plagued By "Get The Latest Quicktime"

Postby AkiraXXX on Tue Jul 08, 2008 8:49 pm

I'm having constant issues viewing Quicktime streams in Firefox.
Some of the solutions I've seen seem iffy to me (meaning they sound
like they'll remove things that are working and add things that do work,
like Java, etc.)

Has anyone found a straightforward way of viewing Quicktime in Firefox
(or Opera) without jumping through hoops? Some of the solutions are
a lot of work. I'm using Mint because I enjoy not having to jump through
these hoops.

Thanks for the input. :)
AkiraXXX
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 4:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Plagued By "Get The Latest Quicktime"

Postby exploder on Wed Jul 09, 2008 4:27 am

Install totem-mozilla and totem-gstreamer and you should be good to go. I had the same problem and that is how I resolved it.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5872
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Plagued By "Get The Latest Quicktime"

Postby Guest on Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:22 am

Thanks, that had been bugging me too.

This fix works for Mint 5, but not Mint 4.

There is a fix that is much more complicated for Mint 4 posted on the Ubuntu forums, but I haven't tried it.

Holland
Guest
 

Re: Plagued By "Get The Latest Quicktime"

Postby AkiraXXX on Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:48 am

Thanks Exploder, that did the trick. :D
AkiraXXX
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 4:25 pm

Re: Plagued By "Get The Latest Quicktime"

Postby exploder on Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:42 pm

The fix I posted was for Mint 5.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5872
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Plagued By "Get The Latest Quicktime"

Postby zeller on Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:22 am

This did not work for me. Anyone else still having trouble?

Edit: This DID work it seems. I had to restart Firefox for it to take effect. D'oh.
DISCLAIMER: Brand new user as of December 07...you have to explain it to me as if I were a 3rd grader.
zeller
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:24 am

Re: Plagued By "Get The Latest Quicktime"

Postby merlwiz79 on Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:26 am

Enable the backports repo of hardy and update mozilla-mplayer.
It's a bug with a detection setting with the plugin.
It was set to reply as 6/7 when it should have been just 7.
The new version replies as quicktime 7.4.5.

Installing totem-mozilla sends a reply of being quicktime 7.
This is why installing it works.
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests