Anyone got ffmpeg/prores working

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Anyone got ffmpeg/prores working

Postby funkytwig on Tue Jan 07, 2014 6:34 am

Hi, I have been trying ot get ffmpeg to generate prores witout mutch lick. To see if the codec was included I tried

Code: Select all
$  ffmpeg -codecs | grep prores
ffmpeg version 0.8.9-6:0.8.9-0ubuntu0.13.10.1, Copyright (c) 2000-2013 the Libav developers
  built on Nov  9 2013 19:09:46 with gcc 4.8.1
*** THIS PROGRAM IS DEPRECATED ***
This program is only provided for compatibility and will be removed in a future release. Please use avconv instead.
 D V D  prores          Apple ProRes (iCodec Pro)

But when I tried to use it I got "Unknown encoder 'prores'" whitch is very odd, below is the full output. I am Uning Mint 16 MATE.

Ben
Code: Select all
$ ffmpeg -i alister.mov -y -probesize 5000000 -f image2 -r 48 -vcodec prores -profile:v 3 -qscale:v 9 -pix_fmt yuv422p10le -s 2048x1152 -r 48 test.mov
ffmpeg version 0.8.9-6:0.8.9-0ubuntu0.13.10.1, Copyright (c) 2000-2013 the Libav developers
  built on Nov  9 2013 19:09:46 with gcc 4.8.1
*** THIS PROGRAM IS DEPRECATED ***
This program is only provided for compatibility and will be removed in a future release. Please use avconv instead.
[mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2 @ 0x20de1e0] stream 0, error opening alias: path='/Render Files/', dir='The Gardens of St. Geoge (#1A48', filename='Graded with s-FIN-00000009', volume='My Passport for Mac', nlvl_from=2, nlvl_to=3
[mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2 @ 0x20de1e0] max_analyze_duration reached
Input #0, mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2, from 'alister.mov':
  Metadata:
    major_brand     : qt 
    minor_version   : 537199360
    compatible_brands: qt 
    creation_time   : 2013-09-29 12:07:55
  Duration: 00:17:25.80, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 87550 kb/s
    Stream #0.0(eng): Video: prores, 1440x1080, 95667 kb/s, PAR 4:3 DAR 16:9, 25 fps, 25 tbr, 25 tbn, 25 tbc
    Metadata:
      creation_time   : 2013-09-29 12:07:55
    Stream #0.1(eng): Audio: pcm_s16le, 48000 Hz, 2 channels, s16, 1536 kb/s
    Metadata:
      creation_time   : 2013-09-29 12:07:55
Unknown encoder 'prores'
funkytwig
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 1:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Anyone got ffmpeg/prores working

Postby cwsnyder on Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:05 am

As of June 27, 2013, from https://trac.ffmpeg.org/wiki/vfxEncodingGuide
Prores

Apple's Prores codec is a very good and efficient codec. It's main problem is that one of the industry's main review linux review tools (RV) does not support playback of Prores on any linux platform. In fact, it only supports playback with the 32bit version of RV on Mac OS X. Having said that, the main use of RV is its capability to do frame-by-frame scrubbing, but if this is not a feature that is necessary for the workflow you're trying to achieve, mplayer and other players will happily play back Prores on linux.

Prores is a 422 codec, with an existing 4444 variation. FFmpeg comes with 3 different prores encodes: "prores", "prores_ks" (formerly named "prores_kostya") and "prores_aw" (formerly named "prores_anatolyi"). In our testing we've used the "prores" and the "prores_ks" encoders and found "prores_ks" to be the best encoder to use. It is the only one that supports the 4444 colorspace and although it may be slightly slower. The color quality of the videos produced by these two codecs was visually indistinguishable Because of the 4444 support we've decided to go with Kostya's version of prores.

There are 4 profiles that exist within Prores: Proxy, LT, SQ and HQ (and then optionally 4444). In ffmpeg these profiles are assigned numbers (0 is Proxy and 3 is HQ). See Apple's official Prores whitepaper for details on the codec and information associated with the profiles. For quick reference, the basic difference is the bitrates: (TODO). The other option that is used with prores is the -pix_fmt option. This is normally set to yuv422p10le or something like that, but if you want to use the 4444 prores you would set it to yuv4444p10le. (A list of possible pixel formats can be invoked by running ffmpeg -pix_fmts. Note that not all of these formats are actually supported with prores).

An example command line for generating a 2K mono clip with Prores is:
Code: Select all
# 2k mono @ 48 fps (422)
ffmpeg -y -probesize 5000000 -f image2 -r 48 -force_fps -i ${DPX_HERO} -c:v prores_ks -profile:v 3 -qscale:v ${QSCALE} -vendor ap10 -pix_fmt yuv422p10le -s \048x1152 -r 48 output.mov

The options used here are standard and are explained in other documents, but let's elaborate a little bit more on the qscale paramater. This parameter determines the quality of the resulting prores movie - both the resulting size and bitrate. 0 means best and it goes up to 32 which is worst. From empirical testing we've found that a qscale of 9 - 13 gives a good result without exploding the space needed too much. 11 would be a good bet, 9 if a slightly better quality is required. When space is not a problem, go with qscale 5 or less, but approaching zero the resulting clip will be extremely large and the bitrate will be so high that it will stop being playable on normal equipment. The "vendor" argument when set to "ap10" tricks quicktime and Final Cut Pro into thinking that the movie was generated on using a quicktime prores encoder.

An example for generating a 3D (Stereo) 2K movie is:
Code: Select all
# 2k stereo @ 48 fps (422)
ffmpeg -y -probesize 5000000 -f image2 -r 48 -force_fps -i ${DPX_HERO} -probesize 5000000 -f image2 -r 48 -force_fps -i ${DPX_2ND} -c:v prores_ks -profile:v 3 -\qscale:v ${QSCALE} -vendor ap10 -pix_fmt yuv422p10le -s 2048x1152 -r 48 -map 0:0 -map 1:0 -metadata stereo_mode=left_right output.mov

In other words, there is a decoder, but no working encoder in FFMPEG package.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM16 Mate 64-bit
Debian Xfce 64-bit, Xubuntu 13.10 64-bit, Xubuntu Trusty Tahr 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS LXDE 64-bit
cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA

Re: Anyone got ffmpeg/prores working

Postby funkytwig on Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:27 am

I just downloaded the latest version and it seems to work fine. For some reason I cant get it working with WinFF 9I think it is passing some old/involid flags).
funkytwig
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: Anyone got ffmpeg/prores working

Postby cwsnyder on Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:43 am

Looks like the documentation is as far behind as WinFF! :oops:

I'm glad you got ffmpeg working.
LMDE Mate 64-bit, LM16 Mate 64-bit
Debian Xfce 64-bit, Xubuntu 13.10 64-bit, Xubuntu Trusty Tahr 64-bit, Antergos Xfce 64-bit, PCLinuxOS LXDE 64-bit
cwsnyder
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:49 am
Location: Nappanee, IN, USA


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests