Audacity Error

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Audacity Error

Postby antiquexray on Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:31 pm

While I keep up with the forums, as of late I haven't been heard from much simply because everything seems to work just fine, until now. When I try and run Audacity I get "Error while opening sound device. Please check the output device settings and project sample rate." It use to work, now it doesn't. A Google search sent me to the Ubuntu Forums, but they haven't helped.

Now, I have to be honest and say I don't know if I've used Audacity with Elyssa; it worked fine in Daryna. I've gone through Edit>Preferences and changed all the Playback Devices and changed my rates, all with zero luck. To make matters worse, somewhere in all my note I have info on how to determine my sound card, but I can't find that either. Can someone help.
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Audacity Error

Postby Husse on Fri Aug 15, 2008 10:42 am

Well to determine you sound card run
Code: Select all
lspci | grep -i audio

Audacity is not a default application so you must have installed it....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Audacity Error

Postby antiquexray on Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:15 pm

Husse wrote:Well to determine you sound card run
Code: Select all
lspci | grep -i audio

Audacity is not a default application so you must have installed it....


Thanks Husse. I'll try that when I get home from work in about 4 hours.

You are absolutely correct about me installing Audacity. I have done so on the Mint release for that last couple years. Never had a problem until know, and really all I'm trying to do is create a ringtone (it's been frustrating). I'll let you know.
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Audacity Error

Postby badmotor on Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:25 pm

Unfortunately, I don't think Audacity works with PulseAudio that is default audio server in Elyssa (or Hardy). I never got it running properly and had to give up using it. You can try and change the different sound devices under edit>preferences, but I never had any success. And likewise, it DID used to work in Daryna/Feisty.

Sadly, I had to install to install XP on my laptop just to record audio. I think Recording has been really been left behind/given a low priority with the new version of Ubuntu. You will get the odd smartass on the Ubuntu forums saying "...well it works fine for me", but I think the majority of people have problems.

If you really want to record, I would have to suggest an older O.S: Daryna or Feisty or Ubuntu Studio 7.10/8.04.
badmotor
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: New Zealand.

Re: Audacity Error

Postby antiquexray on Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:12 am

badmotor wrote:Unfortunately, I don't think Audacity works with PulseAudio that is default audio server in Elyssa (or Hardy). I never got it running properly and had to give up using it. You can try and change the different sound devices under edit>preferences, but I never had any success. And likewise, it DID used to work in Daryna/Feisty.

Sadly, I had to install to install XP on my laptop just to record audio. I think Recording has been really been left behind/given a low priority with the new version of Ubuntu. You will get the odd smartass on the Ubuntu forums saying "...well it works fine for me", but I think the majority of people have problems.

If you really want to record, I would have to suggest an older O.S: Daryna or Feisty or Ubuntu Studio 7.10/8.04.

Well you know badmotor, I think you may be onto something. As a matter-of-fact, I had to install it on XP as well to do my editing.

Please, anyone, prove me wrong.
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Audacity Error

Postby badmotor on Sat Aug 16, 2008 2:09 am

antiquexray wrote:
badmotor wrote:Unfortunately, I don't think Audacity works with PulseAudio that is default audio server in Elyssa (or Hardy). I never got it running properly and had to give up using it. You can try and change the different sound devices under edit>preferences, but I never had any success. And likewise, it DID used to work in Daryna/Feisty.

Sadly, I had to install to install XP on my laptop just to record audio. I think Recording has been really been left behind/given a low priority with the new version of Ubuntu. You will get the odd smartass on the Ubuntu forums saying "...well it works fine for me", but I think the majority of people have problems.

If you really want to record, I would have to suggest an older O.S: Daryna or Feisty or Ubuntu Studio 7.10/8.04.

Well you know badmotor, I think you may be onto something. As a matter-of-fact, I had to install it on XP as well to do my editing.

Please, anyone, prove me wrong.


I'd LOVE to be proved wrong.
badmotor
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: New Zealand.

Re: Audacity Error

Postby mentex on Sat Aug 16, 2008 9:47 pm

Hi badmotor,

Sorry if I don't understand, I'm jurassic, but what are you trying to grab/record? I'm running Elyssa XFCE with Audacity installed and it grabs/records audio from external audio like pc-webcam microphone or real sound like lps and k7 - I've told I'm jurassic. :)
An application like Amsynth with virtual keyboard (vkeybd) is possible to save the "music" and edit on Audacity. Also Hydrogen and Zynaddsubfx completes my set of noise. All installed via synaptic and running fine.

Are you trying something different?
mentex
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 7:53 am

Re: Audacity Error

Postby badmotor on Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:02 pm

mentex wrote:Hi badmotor,

Sorry if I don't understand, I'm jurassic, but what are you trying to grab/record? I'm running Elyssa XFCE with Audacity installed and it grabs/records audio from external audio like pc-webcam microphone or real sound like lps and k7 - I've told I'm jurassic. :)
An application like Amsynth with virtual keyboard (vkeybd) is possible to save the "music" and edit on Audacity. Also Hydrogen and Zynaddsubfx completes my set of noise. All installed via synaptic and running fine.

Are you trying something different?


It wasn't me that did the original post :D
badmotor
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:40 pm
Location: New Zealand.

Re: Audacity Error

Postby antiquexray on Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:29 pm

badmotor wrote:
mentex wrote:Hi badmotor,

Sorry if I don't understand, I'm jurassic, but what are you trying to grab/record? I'm running Elyssa XFCE with Audacity installed and it grabs/records audio from external audio like pc-webcam microphone or real sound like lps and k7 - I've told I'm jurassic. :)
An application like Amsynth with virtual keyboard (vkeybd) is possible to save the "music" and edit on Audacity. Also Hydrogen and Zynaddsubfx completes my set of noise. All installed via synaptic and running fine.

Are you trying something different?


It wasn't me that did the original post :D


I did the original post, and I can't get Audacity to work at all. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong?
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Audacity Error

Postby Missed on Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:48 pm

antiquexray wrote:I did the original post, and I can't get Audacity to work at all. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong?


Works fine for me.

Open a terminal, then do . . . killall pulseaudio

Then try Audacity again.
Missed
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Audacity Error

Postby magnus0 on Sun Aug 17, 2008 6:05 pm

When I try to select alsa in Audacity, it just freezes :?
Image
User avatar
magnus0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 2:23 pm

Re: Audacity Error

Postby antiquexray on Sun Aug 17, 2008 7:06 pm

Missed wrote:
antiquexray wrote:I did the original post, and I can't get Audacity to work at all. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong?


Works fine for me.

Open a terminal, then do . . . killall pulseaudio

Then try Audacity again.

Nope. That didn't work. It grays out and then I get the same error.
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Audacity Error

Postby mentex on Mon Aug 18, 2008 2:15 am

Hi antiquexray,

Sorry my little attention on original post. :oops:

The first thing I can suggest is to remember if your install was o.k.. Mine was not, a big menu.lst error and the usb pc-webcam not working after the proper apps installed. I know this kernel is good because since 2.6.24 from april 2008 my computer is working better on Xfce and Gnome, the sound is 6 channels and o.k., the usb pc-webcam shows image with sound after installed on hardisk, not on live-cd. So, after two days I have decided to do another fresh install, the menu.lst was perfect and everything worked after some upgrades and tons of new applications. Everything via Synaptic because I'm still testing this nice distro.

My output to command lspci | grep -i audio is:
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)

A very popular/cheap soundcard.

Another thing you can do is to test the sound of speakers, if you have 6 channels, terminal and
speaker-test -c 6 -D surround51

If not 6ch, adapt the "-c 6" to 4, 2... You can stop terminal test with keyboard shortcut "CTRL C"

Another checking is terminal and alsamixer

Have a look if the 6 channels is the default, maybe this is the problem. Some time ago I had to change to 2 channels because 6ch gave no sound.

About Audacity, it is automatically configured on install, anyway this is how it is setted:
Preferences > Audio I/O
Playback
Device: OSS: /dev/dsp
Using: Portaudio v19

Recording
Device: OSS: /dev/dsp
Using: 2 (Stereo)

Playtrough
X (checked) Play other tracks while recording new one

Effects Preview
Lenght of preview: 3 secs

Cut Preview
1 sec
1 sec

Latency
Audio to buffer 100 milliseconds
Latency correction: 0 milliseconds

Seek Time when playing
Short period 1 sec
Long period 15 sec

AND

Quality
Default sample rate: 44100 Hz 44100
Default sample format: 32-bit float

Conversion
Real-time: fast sync interpolation.....none
High-quality: high-quality sync interpolation.....shaped

I think is enough on Audacity.

This site explains physical connections, editing ~/.asoundrc etc: http://www.cse.ohio-state.edu/~bondhugu/alsamch.shtml

I have no more ideas, hope this help.

Mentex
mentex
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 7:53 am

Re: Audacity Error

Postby Missed on Mon Aug 18, 2008 2:35 pm

antiquexray wrote:
Missed wrote:
antiquexray wrote:I did the original post, and I can't get Audacity to work at all. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong?


Works fine for me.

Open a terminal, then do . . . killall pulseaudio

Then try Audacity again.

Nope. That didn't work. It grays out and then I get the same error.



O.K., got me beat!
One thing you have to do, is to turn off system sounds. Control Center/Hardware/Sound/Sounds.

Also check out the Audacity Wiki. http://audacityteam.org/wiki/index.php?title=Main_Page
Missed
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:46 am
Location: New Zealand

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests