Low volume on Acer Extensa laptop

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Low volume on Acer Extensa laptop

Postby vinoman on Sun Sep 28, 2008 7:13 pm

I recently installed Mint 5 on this Acer Extensa 4420 laptop. I've played some videos on youtube and streaming music with amarok and even with the volume turned up 90% its still low volume. The master volume on the task bar and the volume in amarok are both set to 90-95% and its still not very loud. Is there a way to pump up the volume?
vinoman
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 520
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Low volume on Acer Extensa laptop

Postby Husse on Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:28 am

We need to know the hardware
Run lspci in a terminal and post the result
If you find that the sound is Intel HDA you could search the forum for sound and HDA
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Low volume on Acer Extensa laptop

Postby sarahmarienc on Mon Sep 29, 2008 12:33 pm

I had this low volume issue on my computer as well. Go to your desk panel volume icon and right click> open volume control> make sure all your bars are turned up

When I first installed Mint 5 and looked at this, three of the settings were muted. I posted on here about it and this was the solution for me. Maybe it will be for you as well :) Good luck!

Here is the link to my post, which has a reply that contains a link to another post that had a similar issue :) Maybe it will help you.
[url]
viewtopic.php?f=49&t=17268[/url]
Be kind- edit your post topics to show they are solved and thank the people who helped. :)

"Microsoft asks us to imagine a world with no walls. Well then why would we need Windows?"
User avatar
sarahmarienc
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:33 pm
Location: Wilmington, North Carolina, USA

Re: Low volume on Acer Extensa laptop

Postby vinoman on Mon Sep 29, 2008 6:41 pm

Husse wrote:We need to know the hardware
Run lspci in a terminal and post the result
If you find that the sound is Intel HDA you could search the forum for sound and HDA


here's the results:

davek@davek-laptop ~ $ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS690 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS690 PCI to PCI Bridge (Internal gfx)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 7914
00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS690 PCI to PCI Bridge (PCI Express Port 1)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS690 PCI to PCI Bridge (PCI Express Port 2)
00:12.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 Non-Raid-5 SATA
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI0)
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI1)
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI2)
00:13.3 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI3)
00:13.4 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI4)
00:13.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB Controller (EHCI)
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 14)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 IDE
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 PCI to LPC Bridge
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS690M [Radeon X1200 Series]
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8071 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 15)
05:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
0b:06.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711SP1 Memory CardBus Controller (rev 01)
0b:06.2 SD Host controller: O2 Micro, Inc. Integrated MMC/SD Controller (rev 02)
0b:06.3 Mass storage controller: O2 Micro, Inc. Integrated MS/xD Controller (rev 01)
0b:06.4 FireWire (IEEE 1394): O2 Micro, Inc. Firewire (IEEE 1394) (rev 02)
davek@davek-laptop ~ $

I did right click on the volume and the volume was turned up but you could barely hear anything unless to turn it up to 100%. On the Vista side of this laptop the volume works fine. Why would it be different in Mint?
vinoman
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 520
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:46 am

Re: Low volume on Acer Extensa laptop

Postby Husse on Tue Sep 30, 2008 7:01 am

Time is running out and I don't find anything right now
Search for Azalia and Hardy/Mint and/or sound and you may find something
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Low volume on Acer Extensa laptop

Postby vinoman on Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:37 am

Husse wrote:Time is running out and I don't find anything right now
Search for Azalia and Hardy/Mint and/or sound and you may find something


... so far nothing. I tried changing to OSS instead of ALSA and that didn't change anything. And when plugging in headphones, the sound turns off altogether. I guess Mint doesn't like Realtek HD sound cards.
vinoman
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 520
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:46 am


Return to Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests